Seared Tuna with Wasabi-Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Wonderful. Add a pinch of tarragon in the butter melting stage to gave it a Hollandaise tang. Make wasabi paste with powder, then add extra in the last stages to heat it to taste. Great on smoked turkey, etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
This was excellent, my family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
The sauce is great, but 3 to 5 minutes per side for tuna? Good tuna is best enjoyed almost raw (like for Sushi) and should never be seared more than 90 seconds on each side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I have made this twice... the first time I followed the recipe to a T and the sauce is absolutely delicious... but it IS very buttery.... The second time I used the same ingredients but added more wine and soy sauce and less butter and didnt waste much time whisking the butter in to make the reduction. It also was delicious, but not the same as the buttery version. I served with pea pods, these yummy little tempura veggie birds nests from trader joes, and a rice w/ veggies. the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I used salmon fillets (no skin) and the salmon was great, but no one really cared for the Wasabi-Butter Sauce. It was just too much butter and not enough real flavor. I won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Excellent. Tasted as good as I've had at restuarants. I used a little less butter and more wasabi. Also I like it rare so seared each side for about 1 minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
maybe I did something wrong??? Sauce was fair...kind of runny and could barely taste the wasabi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Outstanding! I love seared tuna, but this sauce made it even better!! I used just a little over the tuna and then used the remainder to stir fry vegetables as an accompaniment. It was amazing and all my guests raved! All I had on hand was a sweeter white wine, and it really lent itself well with the heat of the wasabi. A wonderfully complex yet subtle sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
The sauce is outstanding, smells wonderful, and is very simple to make. I will definitely make this again soon. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
There is a restaurant near us that serves seared Ahi tuna with wasabi butter and a pineapple chutney that I absolutely love. This recipe means I can make it myself too! The sweetness of the pineapple chutney is a perfect addition to the tuna and wasabi flavors, give it a try! Serve with jasmine rice and steamed vegetables for a plate full of heaven. This is a recipe for a good fresh pineapple chutney that I found: 2 tablespoons vegetable oil 1/2 red bell pepper finely diced 1/2 sweet onion finely diced 2 tablespoons minced fresh ginger 2 cups fresh pineapple medium diced 1/2 cup white vinegar 1/3 cup brown sugar 1 teaspoon salt In a 12" sauté pan, heat oil over medium-high heat until hot. Add red pepper and onion and sauté 5 to 7 minutes stirring constantly. Add ginger. Sauté one minute. Add pineapple, white vinegar, brown sugar and salt. Reduce heat to medium low and simmer 10-15 minutes (or until liquid is reduced by half)-remove and cool to room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States