Seared Tuna with Wasabi-Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This was really yummy, and I am not a fish fan at all (except for sushi). The only reason I didn't give is 5 stars was I did halve the butter as suggested, add garlic to the sauce, and I only cooked the tuna about 2 minutes per side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARGAZER8383

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Just made this!! we loved it! I didn't have shallots, so I used a mixture of minced garlic and onion. I also reduced the amount of butter from 1 cup to 3 Tbs. I made enough sauce for 6 servings but only had 2 pieces of fish- used rest of sauce to marinate fish for 3 hours. Used the rest for dipping and also had some drizzled over some kale that I wilted in toasted sesame oil with pulverized toasted sesame seeds. This was the best dinner we have had in ages! My 2 yo even ate the fish. :o) Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Good...will reduce butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
Loved it. have used it twice, second time cut the butter a bit and added more wasabi- great for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
had to change a few just because of what I had on hand but this was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
My husband recently went on a fishing trip and we have a freezer full of tuna to use up...Out of all the tuna recipes I've tried, he thought this one was the best. I thought it was pretty good, but not quite 5 stars. Surprisingly, the sauce isn't spicy at all. You can definitely taste the wasabi, but it's not hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
I used wasabi powder instead of prepared wasabi (about 2 tablespoons). Could have used more wasabi for more spice, but it was still delicious as is! This sauce tastes good over other firm-fleshed fish as well, such as mahi mahi and salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Very good! I cooked the tuna all the way through, though, as we prefer fish that way. The sauce was wonderful! Thank you for a great recipe that even my two small kids liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
WOW!!My husband and I are truly fresh tuna lovers and this recipe was amazing. Definetly needed more wasabi in sauce. I did not have shallots so I used scallions. Pan searing the tuna for 90 seconds on each side was the key. You have to try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I was very disappointed with this. The sauce was very sour and just plain weird; I even bought some decent wine for it. Husband scraped most of it off his piece of tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States