Seared Tuna with Wasabi-Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I had reviewed this a few years ago and have done it over and over and it is a favorite in my family! I have served it to guests and they loved it! I didn't change a thing and it is consistently great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patkt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This receipe is amazing! It seems complicated but it really isn't too bad. The flavor is spectacular. We made this for Valentine's Day and it was far better than anything we could have eaten at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I made this tonight and both my husband and I loved it. I followed other posts and cut the butter in half (only used about 6 tbls.) and used 2 tbs. of soy sauce. I also used a sweet white wine and the wine vinegar. I used dried cilantro, but only about 1 tsp. I served this over briefly stir fried bok choy and shitake mushrooms. I seared the tuna over high heat to a slight light pink in the center as I did not have maguro tuna, only yellowfin, which tastes a little more fatty to me. The sauce is exactly the same as that which is served a a very popular local restaurant with salmon crusted with panko bread crumbs. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Port Monmouth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
The sauce totally makes this dish. Like someone else said, the wasabi taste is definitely there, but it's not hot. I left out the cilantro because we don't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Highland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This was really yummy, and I am not a fish fan at all (except for sushi). The only reason I didn't give is 5 stars was I did halve the butter as suggested, add garlic to the sauce, and I only cooked the tuna about 2 minutes per side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARGAZER8383

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Just made this!! we loved it! I didn't have shallots, so I used a mixture of minced garlic and onion. I also reduced the amount of butter from 1 cup to 3 Tbs. I made enough sauce for 6 servings but only had 2 pieces of fish- used rest of sauce to marinate fish for 3 hours. Used the rest for dipping and also had some drizzled over some kale that I wilted in toasted sesame oil with pulverized toasted sesame seeds. This was the best dinner we have had in ages! My 2 yo even ate the fish. :o) Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Good...will reduce butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
Loved it. have used it twice, second time cut the butter a bit and added more wasabi- great for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
had to change a few just because of what I had on hand but this was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
My husband recently went on a fishing trip and we have a freezer full of tuna to use up...Out of all the tuna recipes I've tried, he thought this one was the best. I thought it was pretty good, but not quite 5 stars. Surprisingly, the sauce isn't spicy at all. You can definitely taste the wasabi, but it's not hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States