Seared Tuna with Wasabi-Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Highly reccomended recipe. I used low sodium soy sauce, margarine, 2 tablespoons of wasabi, and an extra dash of soy sauce, onion instead of shallot. Also I used plain white vinegar. It turned out sooooo delicous. I only needed to sear my tuna for about 1 minute each side. This dish is served best when the tuna is RARE on the inside and seared on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I was scared to attempt a tuna recipe at home. Tuna is my favorite dish when out to dinner. This recipe was excellent. Tuna at home will become a norm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
The first time I had this recipe was when my brother made it. Everyone in my family loves it. We used much more wasabi though (think 4-5X), and it didnt make it too spicy - just yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I liked this recipe so much that I created an account on the site just to write this :). I cut an 8oz tuna steak lengthwise for a 4oz serving for my wife and I. After coating each in olive oil and salt/pepper, I seared it on the stove, watching the middle of each half to where I had just the perfect sear:raw ratio. For presentation, I cut each fillet into several thin (about 1/8 inch thick) medallions on the plate, and fanned them out. For the sauce, I haven't been happy with the wine, so I substituted apple juice in for it instead. I still put the white wine vinegar in it, however. Apple juice instead of wine might not sound that great, but when you reduce it down far enough with the vinegar and onions, you get a delious, syrupy base. I only used 1 stick of butter, and I think it was perfect that way. I stuck with the recipe on the 1tbs of soy and wasabi, and was very happy with the result. Even though the "heat" pretty much cooks out, the beauty in this recipe is the taste combination. Be very careful while the butter emulsifies. You want a good thick sauce, but it REALLY wants to boil on you. Watch the heat. This is where cooking with gas helps, because you have that instant temperature control. Once the sauce was done, I drizzled it over the tuna medallions, and served it with rice. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Loved the seared tuna, and the sauce was delicious, though I would have liked it with more wasabi. Very rich sauce, lots of butter. I used a Sauvignon Blanc that we had on hand, very dry and mild. I will probably use less cilantro next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Wow!!! Use only 1/2 cup of butter & add another 1/2 tbsp of wasabi. Wow!! The yellowfin tuna I put the sauce on was delicious! The steamed broccoli that got the sauce on it was amazing! The garlic bread that I used to wipe every remaining drop of the sauce off my plate was scrumptious! This is the first time i've been compelled to write a review on any of the recipes i've used from allrecipes, and my wife and I were discussing what other dishes this sauce would be good on. A tablespoon in a Guacamole, Shrimp over Spaghetti, Scallops, Chicken, we came up with about a dozen before we finished the meal. I read all of the reviews, because the recipe was different enough to see how everyone customized it to their liking. Increasing the Wasabi & reducing the butter was the common recommendation, and is also what I did. It took about 25 min to reduce the wine/vineger/shallot mixture, and I was concerned that the very small amount of remaining liquid wouldn't be enough. On top of that, it didn't smell very good while the shallots were simmering. But using only 1/2 cup of butter, it made enough sauce for 6 palm sized tuna steaks. This one's a keeper, folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S A N T I A G O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Ossining, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
this recipe is rediculously good. made it exactly as is and my 7 year old ate as much as my husband and I and that was a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Great meal!! I used some of the suggestions and used half butter. it turned out great even though I forgot to add the soy and wasabi until the end. Will definately make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crossfitgirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rural Retreat, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
All I can say is WOW! This was awesome! I have never had tuna that didn't come out of a can. My hubby is not a fish person, but we decided to give it a try. I love Wasabi so I figured it was worth at least trying. This is now my all time favorite dish and my husband is not only eating fish, he is experimenting with different types of fish. Something he would have never done before this recipe. I followed the advice on the review board about cutting the butter in half. I think this was a fantastic idea as I think it makes the sauce more intensely flavored. We have had this a number of times already. Also, as the review board stated, be very careful not to let the wasibi butter sauce boil as the butter is emulisifing. I did this once, by accident, and it made a big difference in the quality of the sauce and not for the better. I have also used this sauce on lobster and it was fantastic. I just love this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This wasabi-butter sauce is delicious! I have made this dish several times and it is equally as mouth watering with mahi mahi. I like to add a little extra wasabi for a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lfrancioni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States