Seared Tuna with Wasabi-Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
What can I say but WOW!!! This was a HUGE hit, my family LOVED it. I more than seared the tuna (we like it fully cooked) and placed it on top of a bed of brown rice. I poured the sauce over top (made exactly as called for) and it was PERFECT. Thanks so much for the fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This was AWESOME! Quick, easy, and my husband loved it. I will make this over and over again. I served it with asparagus (baked sprayed with olive oil and then sprinkled with pepper and sea salt) and a baked sweet potato. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I have made this about 6 times now and my husband and I love it. We double the sauce though and put on top of steamed fingerling potatoes. Delish. I am not a seafood person but tuna steaks are great. Not at all what I expected it to taste like. This is a keeper and will make all the time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Really good. I made some substitutions (as all cooks do, it seems) Didn't have shallots, minced onion was fine. Used a lesser amount of culantro instead of cilantro. If you are serving for two people, I recommend scaling the recipe down for three servings. The sauce is great, a little extra won't go to waste. I used an $8 Pinot Grigio and she checked out ok. Berringer, I think it was. Served with "Garlic Parmesan Orzo" from allrecipes and some Trader Joe's Sugar Snap Peas that can be nuked quickly in the bag and only require a little bit of butter. Easy and well balanced. Love it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
The sauce is the winner here. I make seared tuna frequently. This recipe was the best. I didn't have shallots, so I used garlic and scallions. I also like seared tuna almost raw. I could not get enough of the sauce, I also put it on the side of wild rice. This sauce will go well with shrimp and other cooked fish. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
We love shallots so next time we'll leave some of those in the reduction. Other than that we thought this recipe was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I was a little concerned while making thsi since there was so much liquid in the pan that had to reduce to 2T. The member that posted that it will take about 20 minutes was right. It did take a while but sure enough, it eventually got there. When all was said and done, it turned out very good. I only gave it 4 stars because, believe it or not, it will need additional wasabi. The spiciness must all cook out becauese although it was good, it didn't pop with flavor. Definitely worth making again but next time I will use more wasabi and will get tuna steaks that are about 1 inch thick (mine were thicker).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Highly reccomended recipe. I used low sodium soy sauce, margarine, 2 tablespoons of wasabi, and an extra dash of soy sauce, onion instead of shallot. Also I used plain white vinegar. It turned out sooooo delicous. I only needed to sear my tuna for about 1 minute each side. This dish is served best when the tuna is RARE on the inside and seared on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I was scared to attempt a tuna recipe at home. Tuna is my favorite dish when out to dinner. This recipe was excellent. Tuna at home will become a norm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
The first time I had this recipe was when my brother made it. Everyone in my family loves it. We used much more wasabi though (think 4-5X), and it didnt make it too spicy - just yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States