Seared Sea Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was very easy to make and quite tasty. I didn't have any lemon juice, and I added a few squirts of spray butter to the scallops before I rolled them in the flour. My only complaint is that they were a little 'watery'. I put them on a paper towel to soak up the water and it helped a lot. I'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
We did not like this at all. The flour coating created a consistency with the scallop that we did not like and the seasoning overpowered the taste of the scallops. Next time I will just try with the herbs and regular salt and pepper and finish with the lemon juice and leave the rest of it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
followed advise to toss ingrediants in bag including parmesan cheese and added about 1/4 cup of white wine to the pan. cooked quickly to sear and give the carmelized color, but not overdone to avoid rubbery scallops. Beautiful and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Excellent although I will reduce the salt next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
delicious, when they don't get soggy. I have made this recipe successfully and, more often, unsuccessfully. Too inconsistent to rate 5 stars. I don't know...maybe it is the scallops themselves that are inconsistent. May never know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This recipe is a good way to cover the delicate, delicious flavor of sea scallops. I had a couple pounds of jumbo Alaskan sea scallops and used this recipe, really disappointed in it. This would be fine for a stronger tasting fish. A little olive oil, butter, garlic, salt and pepper is all that you need to do a wonderful seared sea scallop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
wonderful and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taylor51@comcast.net

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
The ingredient portions are way off and the flour just turns to soup. a 1/2 cup of flour with only, what, 3 teaspoons worth of seasonings? Everything just gets lost in there. Im no BobbyFlay but I'm not a bad cook either. And a previous reviewing is correct, thyme and oregano is a wierd combo.My guy was telling me not to try this one and should have listened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Best Scollops EVER!!! But we modified it some... Adjusted for 2 servings using 6 sea scallops; hubby quote "best scallops I've ever had in my WHOLE life". We didn't have lemon pepper (OH! NO!) so we modified it to 1/2 tsp dried lemon peel and 1/2 tsp finely ground black pepper. Added 1 tsp garlic herb Old Bay seasoinng Did not use lemon juice at all. Also, we found cooking them on high heat using an electric stove was too high; suggest cooking an a mediam high temp insteaed (7 or 8) if using an electric stove. Finished scallops off with a sprinlke of grated parm. cheese, chopped fresh parsley, and a dash of Old Bay garlic herb seasoning. Scallops were olden brown and VERY flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Added paprika, ginger powder, and garlic powder to the flour mix. Was awesome! But make sure you don't put too much lemon juice in the end coz your scallops will be a little soggy. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orangette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States