Seared Sea Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
followed advise to toss ingrediants in bag including parmesan cheese and added about 1/4 cup of white wine to the pan. cooked quickly to sear and give the carmelized color, but not overdone to avoid rubbery scallops. Beautiful and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Excellent although I will reduce the salt next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
delicious, when they don't get soggy. I have made this recipe successfully and, more often, unsuccessfully. Too inconsistent to rate 5 stars. I don't know...maybe it is the scallops themselves that are inconsistent. May never know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This recipe is a good way to cover the delicate, delicious flavor of sea scallops. I had a couple pounds of jumbo Alaskan sea scallops and used this recipe, really disappointed in it. This would be fine for a stronger tasting fish. A little olive oil, butter, garlic, salt and pepper is all that you need to do a wonderful seared sea scallop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
wonderful and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taylor51@comcast.net

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
The ingredient portions are way off and the flour just turns to soup. a 1/2 cup of flour with only, what, 3 teaspoons worth of seasonings? Everything just gets lost in there. Im no BobbyFlay but I'm not a bad cook either. And a previous reviewing is correct, thyme and oregano is a wierd combo.My guy was telling me not to try this one and should have listened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Best Scollops EVER!!! But we modified it some... Adjusted for 2 servings using 6 sea scallops; hubby quote "best scallops I've ever had in my WHOLE life". We didn't have lemon pepper (OH! NO!) so we modified it to 1/2 tsp dried lemon peel and 1/2 tsp finely ground black pepper. Added 1 tsp garlic herb Old Bay seasoinng Did not use lemon juice at all. Also, we found cooking them on high heat using an electric stove was too high; suggest cooking an a mediam high temp insteaed (7 or 8) if using an electric stove. Finished scallops off with a sprinlke of grated parm. cheese, chopped fresh parsley, and a dash of Old Bay garlic herb seasoning. Scallops were olden brown and VERY flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Added paprika, ginger powder, and garlic powder to the flour mix. Was awesome! But make sure you don't put too much lemon juice in the end coz your scallops will be a little soggy. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orangette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Like a previous reviewer, I didn't coat my scallops in flour. I just mixed the seasonings in a bowl and tossed the scallops in the bowl to coat. I did add a tablespoon of garlic powder to the mixture because we love garlic. Seared the scallops on medium high heat, turning them once. I didn't do mine in batches, but put all of them in at the same time. At the end of cooking, I deglazed the pan with some white wine , lemon juice, and a bit a butter. I boiled the sauce until thickened and poured it over the scallops. I served it with rice pilaf and a salad. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I am not sure what to say. I just did not care for these at all. Two tablespoons of lemon pepper was too much. After two scallops, I wiped all the seasoning off. Even my husband who eats just about anything did not have much to say. Said they were "Good" and left it at that. Normally, he raves through out the whole meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States