Seared Sea Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
easy and delicious (my favorite combination)! served with Orzo with Parmesan and Basil -- a perfect combination
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idagal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Scallops turned out WONDERFUL!!! I seared mine in butter instead of the oil..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
So salty! Otherwise a good, easy recipe. Definitely skip the salt and half the lemon pepper.. add extra lemon juice at the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathikay
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
To keep the crust on, try double sifted flour, works great (try on chicken too). Makes a nice fine crust. Also try adding a little butter to the oil, they will brown faster. I used lemon flavored pasta to change it up. This is always a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathikay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Great recipe! Also very easy and fast to do. I served the scallops on top of linguini and i put the parsley, lemon juice, and one table spoon of olive oil all over. The presentation is great with the scallops surrounded the linguini! The lemon juice, parsley and olive oil made a sort of sauce for the linguini! DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Scallops were cooked well but coating would not stick. Lemon pepper was too strong and clumped together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Phenominal! Nicely crusted, with a great flavor, enhanced at the end with the lemon juice and parsley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This is THE BEST scallops recipe. The most important thing about scallops is to get them as dry as possible before searing. I defrosted mine, then placed them on top of 3 paper towels, and wrapped them with a couple of kitchen towels. After an hour or so, I then put the flour and seasonings into a Ziploc bag, and shook about 1/3 of the scallops at a time. The frying pan I used is a ceramic-lined Cuisinart frying pan - it's really important to have a good non-stick pan. I heated the olive oil until very hot, then placed some of the scallops into it, being sure to leave some breathing room between scallops. When those were nice and brown on each side, I took them out and placed them on a plate. I then seared the 2nd and 3rd batches the same way. When all of the scallops were seared, I poured about 1/3 cup of white wine into the pan, then 1/4 cup of butter and some lemon juice. After pouring that delicious sauce over the scallops, I served them over fettuccine. We sopped up the rest of the juices with some ciabatta roles. Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madeira, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I used Old Bay instead of Season Salt. Deglaze with white wine and finish with butter. Make small batches if making more than one recipe -- to avoid excess buildup of flour in the pan (results in gummy sauces).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Very easy prep and awesome taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Scallops and Arugula with Lentils and Butter Bea

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States