Seared Sea Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This recipe is great! After washing the scallops, blot them dry with a paper towel. Toss them in the flour mixture to get a light coating them place them in the hot pan. When you flip the scallops, don't put them in the same place. Move them to a part of the pan that hasn't been cooked on yet (it's hotter and will sear the scallops better - a trick I read in Ad Hoc). 2 minutes on each side was perfect! I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Both my husband and I loved this recipe. I used less flour than called for and mixed the parmesan in with the coating mixture as others suggested. The dish was very light and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Good, first time making scallops, love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheelara
Home Town: Leeds, Alabama, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Good recipe! I followed the other suggestions, and omitted the flour, but I also added ~1/4 tsp cayenne, cut the oil by 1/2, omitted the lemon juice and served with long grain & wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Too much lemon pepper! But coating in flour and searing is a good way to serve scallops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
SUPER easy and SUPER good. My husband came home with a pound of dry sea scallops and wanted a nice, light prep for them - this definitely fit the bill. It's mild, simple, and doesn't obscure the taste of the scallops too much. One of the few "perfect!" reviews from his very picky tummy. My only comment is that I ended up with a lot of extra flour/seasoning mix - you could probably cut this recipe down by half, or possibly even down to a quarter the original measurements, and still have enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
WOW!!!!!!!!!! DELISH AS IS!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was pretty good for a restaurante style appetizer at home.. I served this with a melted butter dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newchefgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Fabulous! My coating stayed on. Not sure if it helped, but after coating them I put them in the fridge for a couple of hours before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Two minutes each side burned one of my sides on high. I would say medium high heat is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paulettep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States