Seared Sea Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kris Flynn
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Awesome!!! I substituted corn starch for the flour due to a gluten intolerance. I also used 1 tsp Old Bay seasoning in place of the seasoning salt because that is what I had. The scallops were slightly crunchy and delicious. I think cooking them aon high is the trick to keeping them crunchy and not mushy as some reviewers mentioned. Brush with melted butter before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Flynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Made it exactly per the instructions and they turned out great. Not sure if it makes a difference, but I used a well seasoned cast iron skillet. They turned out golden brown, and with an excellent flavor. Can't wait to make this dish again. Five stars all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
I didn't have any trouble with the flour coating falling off or sticking to the pan. I used a mixture of olive oil and butter in a cast iron skillet. I like the suggestion of skipping the flour altogether and will try that next time, though. My husband, who seldom compliments my cooking, said "It was good." That's how I know this is a GREAT recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I have tried many scallop recipes, this one is my favorite. They were absolutely perfect! We didn't have fresh parsley so we used the dried stuff. These were as good as you would get in a top restaurant! Thanks for sharing chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Too lemon-peppery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This recipe is so simple and quick but so delicious! The mix of spices with the lemon juice creates amazing flavor. I added garlic because I love garlic in everything. The scallops cook best if they're not dry before the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten_face

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Boy was this ever good. A most delicious meal! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Seasoning overpowered the taste of scallops. I will sticky to my pan fried scallops with lemon-butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
My family loves seafood and thought we'd try this recipe for a new twist, and were very disappointed. I only used 3 teaspoons of lemon pepper and thought is was still too much. I also think maybe half on the other seasonings would be enough. I also tried the Parmesan cheese and thought that it made the scallops come out gummy. Overall, just too many flavors taking away from the natural goodness of the scallop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
very bland. though the scallops we bought were not very good either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States