Seared Sea Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
made these scallops tonight along side a nice green salad and fresh corn on the cob. the only thing i changed as i didnt have any one hand was the lemon pepper i used garlic seasoning instead and replaced olive oil with Avocado oil infused with lemon turned out very nice did have two cook an extra 2 minutes as they were too raw on the inside for me but over all very good will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PTMUGUCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Crunchy, Yummy, and Simple. i liked it and my husband agreed. I would make it again, except i wish there was some sauce to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sgash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This was really good but you need to let the pan come up to the proper heat before you add the scallops. There's a smidge too much dried oregano. Oh, and if you swirled a bit of butter into the pan juices & added the lemon juice to that, you'd have a delicious sauce. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This was my first try at cooking scallops....my husband loved them....me too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
The seasonings in the flour were great, the directions were clear and everything had great flavor. This may be common knowledge to you all but if you're thinking of trying this with a shoddy pan, one which doesn't heat evenly, you will be super disappointed. I knew I shouldn't have attempted it but I ADORE scallops and wanted to make them this way at home as I think the natural flavor comes through more than baking/stir frying. The problem is you don't move these around like your stir frying and the scallops are more delicate/floured unlike the meats you may brown/sear in the pan, so you NEED a heavy bottom which heats evenly. My pan is super-thin and not stainless, nor completely flat anymore. I ended up with about half my scallops in various stages of browning/burning, I threw them all in a baking dish with some melted butter and white wine poured over and managed to cook/overcook them by baking. I will try this again when I set enough aside for an All-clad or my Le Creuset.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
a few tips that I followed to get really crispy golden brown scallops: dry the scallops thoroughly so oil won't pop at you when you put them in, preheat the pot and oil until the oil "moves" (oil needs to be really hot if you don't want the flour to go all soggy, and this way, less oil will be absorbed into the scallops). For this, I would use a metal skillet since I've been told that non-stick don't do too well with the preheating. Once the scallops were in, I lowered the heat to medium, and seared on each side for ~3 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
These were great, but the breading was a little much, and got soggy if they sat in the oven too long waiting for others to cook. Great flavor, but not as good as a perfectly cooked unbreaded scallop with a nice crispy sear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scuba Steve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I did not use flour either on this recipe. It was very very good! I cooked it for my boyfriend, and he loved it! He said it was exstacy in his mouth! I marinated the scallops for 3 hours in all spices called for plus onion powder, garlic powder and enough oil to constitute a marinade. I fried them in a pan over medium heat. I had a rough time making the sauce after cooking the scallops, does anyone have any suggestions on making it better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
A truly delicious recipe, and so easy to prepare. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy at Home

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Scallops and Arugula with Lentils and Butter Bea

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States