Seared Sea Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Like a previous reviewer, I didn't coat my scallops in flour. I just mixed the seasonings in a bowl and tossed the scallops in the bowl to coat. I did add a tablespoon of garlic powder to the mixture because we love garlic. Seared the scallops on medium high heat, turning them once. I didn't do mine in batches, but put all of them in at the same time. At the end of cooking, I deglazed the pan with some white wine , lemon juice, and a bit a butter. I boiled the sauce until thickened and poured it over the scallops. I served it with rice pilaf and a salad. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I am not sure what to say. I just did not care for these at all. Two tablespoons of lemon pepper was too much. After two scallops, I wiped all the seasoning off. Even my husband who eats just about anything did not have much to say. Said they were "Good" and left it at that. Normally, he raves through out the whole meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
These were just OK as far as scallops go. They made a huge mess on my cooktop. I would suggest using a stockpot to sear them in to prevent the spatter from coating your cooking area. Since you only cook 4 at a time, the high sides won't get in your way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Excellent way to cook scallops. I reduce the amount of flour and cook in a mix of olive oil and butter on medium high heat. Serve on a bed of greens with cherry tomatoes =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam Skinner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
These turned out awesome. I'll definitely make again. Except I substituted whole wheat flour instead of regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Definite potential....If I make this again I will reduce the lemon pepper bay at least half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This is truly a great recipe! My husband & I had a wonderful dinner for two and he enjoyed it completely. I went a little less on the flour & it all turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
made these scallops tonight along side a nice green salad and fresh corn on the cob. the only thing i changed as i didnt have any one hand was the lemon pepper i used garlic seasoning instead and replaced olive oil with Avocado oil infused with lemon turned out very nice did have two cook an extra 2 minutes as they were too raw on the inside for me but over all very good will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PTMUGUCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Crunchy, Yummy, and Simple. i liked it and my husband agreed. I would make it again, except i wish there was some sauce to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sgash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This was really good but you need to let the pan come up to the proper heat before you add the scallops. There's a smidge too much dried oregano. Oh, and if you swirled a bit of butter into the pan juices & added the lemon juice to that, you'd have a delicious sauce. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States