Seared Sea Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
love love love this recipe, the searing carmelizes the outside of the scallops and they remain soft and sweet inside. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marti
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I used tarragon instead of the oregano and thyme, because it is much more subtle. I think it's also a better fit with the delicate flavors of shellfish. The folks who've had trouble with the flour getting soggy and falling off may have been using scallops that have water added. They release it as soon as they hit the pan. It's important to check the label when you buy frozen ones, and look out for clumps of ice in the bag or excessive frost on the scallops. They should look relatively dry, with no opaque edges that indicate frost burn. Icy clumps not only indicate that water was added, but that they probably thawed at some point and were re-frozen.That's always the case if you see frost burn. Thawing and re-freezing always mean less flavor and a shorter life in you freezer. Someone mentioned using sea scallops instead of bay, and I agree. If you buy them fresh they should look solid, firm, and somewhat dry-not watery and flaccid. Ask the clerk if water has been added. I think buying fresh is better because you can see the condition of the meat. It's hard to judge that when they're frozen. But I've had great, flavorful (and dry!) frozen scallops too. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Bad with the breading and floury.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
it was wonderful. i cut the lemon pepper by 1/2 because my husband isn't crazy about it but it worked out great! thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
It was very helpfull and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Southampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was very easy to make and quite tasty. I didn't have any lemon juice, and I added a few squirts of spray butter to the scallops before I rolled them in the flour. My only complaint is that they were a little 'watery'. I put them on a paper towel to soak up the water and it helped a lot. I'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
We did not like this at all. The flour coating created a consistency with the scallop that we did not like and the seasoning overpowered the taste of the scallops. Next time I will just try with the herbs and regular salt and pepper and finish with the lemon juice and leave the rest of it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
followed advise to toss ingrediants in bag including parmesan cheese and added about 1/4 cup of white wine to the pan. cooked quickly to sear and give the carmelized color, but not overdone to avoid rubbery scallops. Beautiful and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Excellent although I will reduce the salt next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
delicious, when they don't get soggy. I have made this recipe successfully and, more often, unsuccessfully. Too inconsistent to rate 5 stars. I don't know...maybe it is the scallops themselves that are inconsistent. May never know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States