Seared Sea Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Wonderful, simple, not overly spiced lets the scallop flavor stand out. Having the texture of crisp on the outside, but oh so tender on the inside. Definitely need to watch timing so they don't turn to rubber. Will make this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill528

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edgewater, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
A little strong on the lemon pepper will try this again using some tips from the other reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Warren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sebec, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I followed this exactly and they were fabulous1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabrielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I have tried many scallop recipes and this is far and above the best. I have to admit I think the fact there is no garlic helps because it becomes bitter so quickly in a sauté pan. I loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Quick, simple and absolutely delicious! The seasoned salt and lemon pepper make this recipe! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I used the seasonings I had, which were Italian seasoning, Old World spice, and thyme. It was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I followed direcions with the exception of squirting the lemon juice afterwards, which I will definitely try next time. The scallops were great! I tried one right after it was done searing and it was excellent, however; the ones I put in the oven to keep warm got SOGGY!! I was very disappointed. Next time, I will use a bigger pan or two pans and not put them in the oven!!! I sparayed my pan with non-stick cooking spray before I put in the olive oil and I did not have a problem with the flour mix falling off or sticking to the pan. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caryl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
These were very easy and tasty. I didn't have lemon pepper on hand so I used regular black pepper instead and lemon infused grapeseed oil rather than olive oil. They came out great! I also didn't have fresh parsley or lemon juice but I didn't even miss it. Next time I'll try it exactly as written as I do like lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I used this as a guide only. Too much salt and lemon pepper. I used Slap-Yo-Mamma seasoning from New Orleans - 1/2 tsp plus 1/2 tsp lemon pepper plus flour 1/4 cup and 1/4 cup Panko all in a ziplok to dust the scallops. Seared them in 1/2 olive oil and 1/2 butter. deglazed the pan with white wine to serve over the yummy scallops. This I served with a brown rice pilaf (Mushrooms/onions) cooked in broth. A wonderful meal served with arugula and orange salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Personally, I found that the herbs and seasoning really overpowered the scallops, and I cut back a bit from what the recipe called for. The cook time was perfect though, so for my first time actually searing scallops myself the texture came out nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States