Seared Sea Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I used the seasonings I had, which were Italian seasoning, Old World spice, and thyme. It was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I followed direcions with the exception of squirting the lemon juice afterwards, which I will definitely try next time. The scallops were great! I tried one right after it was done searing and it was excellent, however; the ones I put in the oven to keep warm got SOGGY!! I was very disappointed. Next time, I will use a bigger pan or two pans and not put them in the oven!!! I sparayed my pan with non-stick cooking spray before I put in the olive oil and I did not have a problem with the flour mix falling off or sticking to the pan. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caryl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
These were very easy and tasty. I didn't have lemon pepper on hand so I used regular black pepper instead and lemon infused grapeseed oil rather than olive oil. They came out great! I also didn't have fresh parsley or lemon juice but I didn't even miss it. Next time I'll try it exactly as written as I do like lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I used this as a guide only. Too much salt and lemon pepper. I used Slap-Yo-Mamma seasoning from New Orleans - 1/2 tsp plus 1/2 tsp lemon pepper plus flour 1/4 cup and 1/4 cup Panko all in a ziplok to dust the scallops. Seared them in 1/2 olive oil and 1/2 butter. deglazed the pan with white wine to serve over the yummy scallops. This I served with a brown rice pilaf (Mushrooms/onions) cooked in broth. A wonderful meal served with arugula and orange salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Personally, I found that the herbs and seasoning really overpowered the scallops, and I cut back a bit from what the recipe called for. The cook time was perfect though, so for my first time actually searing scallops myself the texture came out nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This recipe is great! After washing the scallops, blot them dry with a paper towel. Toss them in the flour mixture to get a light coating them place them in the hot pan. When you flip the scallops, don't put them in the same place. Move them to a part of the pan that hasn't been cooked on yet (it's hotter and will sear the scallops better - a trick I read in Ad Hoc). 2 minutes on each side was perfect! I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Both my husband and I loved this recipe. I used less flour than called for and mixed the parmesan in with the coating mixture as others suggested. The dish was very light and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Good, first time making scallops, love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheelara
Home Town: Leeds, Alabama, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Good recipe! I followed the other suggestions, and omitted the flour, but I also added ~1/4 tsp cayenne, cut the oil by 1/2, omitted the lemon juice and served with long grain & wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Too much lemon pepper! But coating in flour and searing is a good way to serve scallops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States