Seared Sea Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This was very good. It made a nice crust on the outside. We had a mushroom creamy pasta on the side and that was a perfect combination. We'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
this was great and so easy. i've been afraid to cook scallops because in the past i overcooked them. This recipe was perfect and my fiance that they were awesome. i tried a batch omitting the oregano and thyme and added cayenne pepper and garlic powder to the flour mixture. It had a nice bite if you like spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
My family enjoyed this meal. Have to be careful not to overcook the scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This was disappointing, considering how much I paid for sea scallops. Not restaurant quality, even though I followed the helpful suggestions. Definitely DON'T cook this on high heat! I served it over pasta, but there wasn't any sauce to put over the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This recipe was pretty good. As per everyone else's reviews/comments about the crust falling off in the pan, I subbed in panko (japanese bread crumbs) for the flour and dipped the scallops in egg whites before rolling them in the batter and searing them. They came out pretty tasty! I used a little white wine on them while they were in the pan- really tasty and served with lemon & lime juice. I also added parm. cheese to the batter, like one of the other reviews recommended. My only complaint is they were a tad salty- an easy thing to fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
A bit mushy. Definitely use the white wine to make a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
This was excellent. At suggestion of others I deglazed the pan with some white wine, butter & lemon juice. Used a little too much lemon :( ..so had to add a tablespoon of sugar to offset the acid but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Wonderful. Did as others suggested and marinated scallops for a few hours in the frig. Sauteed scallops for a few minutes on each side and removed from pan. Deglazed the pan with white wine and added baby portabello mushrooms and 1 T. of butter. Served scallops along side angel hair pasta with mushroom sauce. The best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMARTIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States