Seared Sea Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I followed this recipe to a "T" and it was far too salty for my liking. My husband couldn't even eat it. He said it was too salty and too earthy. I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
The best scallops ever. I followed the recipe as written with the exception of adding the cheese to the flour mixture. I made sure the scallops were dry and just dropped them in a baggie and tossed. Thank you for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ironwood, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Love this recipe. I have made this several times but have never wrote a review. When I spend the money on big scallops I only make them this way. I love to finish this with a spray of truffle oil spray before serving these. Wonderful! Now I have to go make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
yummy yummy yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I made these as directed and they turned out perfect. I made my own sauce in the pan as other reviewers suggested using white wine, flour to thicken, butter and fresh spinach. I served it over pasta. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mich&rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana71
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I made these for my brother, who was in town, and he LOVED them! I liked them a lot, too, but thought 2T lemon pepper made them too lemony (and that was w/o the lemon juice suggested at the end). So, will definitely make these again - probably cook a little longer than 2min each side...possibly 3min each side depending on how thick the scallops are...and will cut the lemon pepper down to 1 T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Great recipe, it was a hit with the family! That's what counts! I used this recipe to make scallops for the first time, it was very easy. My husband and two boys, (3 and 6) found it to be very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeafoodLuva

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West New York, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Love these but I made one major change when I make them. I make the seasoning exactly as outlined, sear them exactly as recipe calls for too but at the end, once they are browned, I pour orange juice over them in the pan and let boil to a reduction. Adds a little natural sauce and a meal that isn't made with butter!! Love them!! (Other hint is that I let the olive oil get REALLY hot before throwing the scallops in and I throw them all in one pan vs the 4 at a time bit).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
PERFECT! I did not use the flour, and it was still perfect. The high cooking temp and the seasonings make it a bit crunchy on the outside. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
My husband did the actual frying with these, but I made up the coating and got them ready to fry. I took other users' advice and skipped the flour in the coating. I also added some white wine and the lemon juice/parsley to the skillet to reduce off a nice light sauce for the scallops & pasta. We served with fettuccine. The scallops seemed to soak up a lot of the oil during cooking, so my husband decided to add a little more for the second round of scallops. We made a total of about 16 large sea scallops, and had plenty of spices with the recommended mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States