Seared Sea Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This was my first try at cooking scallops....my husband loved them....me too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
The seasonings in the flour were great, the directions were clear and everything had great flavor. This may be common knowledge to you all but if you're thinking of trying this with a shoddy pan, one which doesn't heat evenly, you will be super disappointed. I knew I shouldn't have attempted it but I ADORE scallops and wanted to make them this way at home as I think the natural flavor comes through more than baking/stir frying. The problem is you don't move these around like your stir frying and the scallops are more delicate/floured unlike the meats you may brown/sear in the pan, so you NEED a heavy bottom which heats evenly. My pan is super-thin and not stainless, nor completely flat anymore. I ended up with about half my scallops in various stages of browning/burning, I threw them all in a baking dish with some melted butter and white wine poured over and managed to cook/overcook them by baking. I will try this again when I set enough aside for an All-clad or my Le Creuset.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
a few tips that I followed to get really crispy golden brown scallops: dry the scallops thoroughly so oil won't pop at you when you put them in, preheat the pot and oil until the oil "moves" (oil needs to be really hot if you don't want the flour to go all soggy, and this way, less oil will be absorbed into the scallops). For this, I would use a metal skillet since I've been told that non-stick don't do too well with the preheating. Once the scallops were in, I lowered the heat to medium, and seared on each side for ~3 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
These were great, but the breading was a little much, and got soggy if they sat in the oven too long waiting for others to cook. Great flavor, but not as good as a perfectly cooked unbreaded scallop with a nice crispy sear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scuba Steve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I did not use flour either on this recipe. It was very very good! I cooked it for my boyfriend, and he loved it! He said it was exstacy in his mouth! I marinated the scallops for 3 hours in all spices called for plus onion powder, garlic powder and enough oil to constitute a marinade. I fried them in a pan over medium heat. I had a rough time making the sauce after cooking the scallops, does anyone have any suggestions on making it better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
A truly delicious recipe, and so easy to prepare. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy at Home

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I was afraid to try this recipe because some reviewers said the flour fell off while cooking. I rinsed and drained the scallops but also patted them dry..that is the key! I dusted them in the flour mixture and put it in very hot oil. The flour did not fall off. The recipe is very yummy. I will make it for my guests next week. I hope the scallops are on sale though...They are very expensive but they were worth it! Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Legros

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
easy to make, tender & delicately flavored if you go lightly w/the lemon juice. next time I'll add some old bay to the flour mixture for a spicy version. will make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Loved this recipe! I followed some of the other comments and made a marinade with the spices below, olive oil, lemon juice from 1 lemon, and added dried parsley. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDHOTRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States