Seared Scallops with Tropical Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This was really nice with grilled salmon. I will definately use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINGYV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This was an excellent recipe. I loved the simplicity of the scallops. They were very flavorful with just simple salt & pepper - I highly recommend preparing them as indicated in the recipe. The searing method works best with the small-sized scallops, as larger scallops will not cook through. Like most people, I did modify the recipe to utilize ingredients I had on hand. I used 2 red chilies instead of 1 jalepeno and mixed yellow, orange and red bell peppers to make up the necessary 1/2 cup. I also used extra virgin olive oil to sear the scallops. The extra Chili pepper gave it a little bite, which went really well with a nice Gewürztraminer. It was even better after the salsa had sat over night. I will add that the prep time took a little longer, but that's because I chopped everything by hand with a knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miami's Eddy
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I used this recipe as a party dish. There was plenty to go around. I added some crab meat to the dish and tossed in some red surf clams and everyone loved it. My buddy is allergic to peppers, so we didn't add any, but the recipe is great without it. The salsa taste great and tasted even better on top of homemade crab cakes. I used large sea scallops which I cut in halves, lightly covered in flour (with a lot of old bay) and seared them. I used some white fruity wine to deglaze the pan, mixed in the salsa and red clams to infuse all the flavors and poured it on top of the scallop and crab. Sprinkle some cilantro on top and served it with crackers and toasted breads. This recipe is a great way to impress your friends and to entertain with. The salsa is great for any seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miami's Eddy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I made this recipe exactly as directed and it fit perfectly in to my Core Plan on Weight Watchers. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This is a great recipe for scallops!! Simple and delicious. Sweet and mildly spicy salsa over succulent scallops!! Yum Yum. Make sure you allow the salsa flavours to blend together for at least 1 hour before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chippawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I used the little bay scallops because I was topping a salad w/ this recipe. I made the salsa as the recipe states, except for adding just a tbp or so of mango vinegar ( a recipe from foodnetwork) but I made a few changes w/ the scallops. I used olive oil w/ just a bit of butter to saute them in but first I added big slivers of garlic & let them cook for a few minutes to infuse the oil. Then I removed the garlic & added the bay scallops. I hit the scallops w/ Old Bay & chopped basil while cooking & then sprinkled them w/ lemon juice after I removed them from the pan. I plated a bed of romaine, drizzled it w/ the mango vinegar, added quite a bit of the salsa & topped it w/ the scallops, adding a few sliced cukes for interest. Hubby was very skeptical of this salad but had to concede that the flavor combo was superb. *rubbing my fingers on my chest in an arrogant fashion* LOL But next time he wants me to add a bit of mayo to the mango vinegar to make it more of a substantial dressing....I will for his, I thought mine was just perfect! Served this w/ a glass of white zin & for dessert, cherry limeade sorbet, drizzled w/ homemade cherry vodka & topped w/ a couple of frosted grapes. What a wonderful, light & healthy meal for a hot, summer evening...thansk for your contribution Robin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
This recipe is great! Very tasty and so easy to make. This will definitely be one of my regulars I make at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Family wasn't too sure about this dish when they first saw it but thoroughly enjoyed it. I served it with rice and doubled the amount of salsa and it was all eaten. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
Excellent! I served this over scallops and fish - everyone loved it. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockledge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Wales, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
So light and refreshing! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

D's Famous Salsa

This salsa is easy and so zesty, it's like a fiesta in your mouth.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States