Seared Scallops with Spicy Papaya Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
I struggled rating this recipe since there were two of us eating this, each with different opinions. First, the preparation: Hubs did flour the scallops, under protest, in the interest of experimentation and for purposes of rating the recipe as written. He still prefers searing the scallops without flouring them. You can use higher heat and he prefers to season the scallops directly. I prepared the salsa, and as I was doing so, was not impressed. Red pepper, red papaya and red onion provided little variation in color, therefore making it look particularly uninteresting. Thank goodness for the flecks of cilantro and jalapeno for the little contrast in color they provided. As for taste, you can't go wrong with seared scallops, really, unless you overcook them. Hubs did a good job. Odd, he liked that papaya salsa much better than I did, and he doesn't care for cilantro! He found it subtle in flavor, which he appreciated as it didn't compete or distract from enjoying the delicate flavor of the scallops. I, on the other hand, found it relatively flavorless save for the cilantro. Overall I found the dish ok, I guess, but definitely not a "make again." For a tropical salsa, I would prefer something brighter, fresher, and more interesting. Mango and pineapple, or even just pineapple, would have been ideal additions. Hubs says "a four," I say "a weak three." I served this with fresh Florida sweet corn and Rick Bayless' Green Poblano Rice (excellent, by the way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This is an amazing recipe. I made it for my family and they loved it! the one thing I would change is the breading because it wouldn't stay on, it fell off in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
The flavors in the salsa just didn't seem to balance. It was an interesting idea, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Great recipe. We followed the advice of others and didn't flour the scallops. We served it with a mix of rice and bacon. Would definitely use this recipe for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This is for the salsa only. I made shrimp with it instead. We loved the salsa and just tweaked it a bit to our taste and what I had. I added a whole jalepeno, and used lemon juice instead. I used my food processor to finely chop the peppers and onion. Excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
FANTASTIC. Substituted the jalapeno with a habanero to give it more kick and served over rice. Kept extra sauce for salsa and/or fish tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I used this for a dinner party and it was a huge hit! I also didn't put the flour or pepper on the scallops before cooking and they were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This was great. I hate to take a recipe and change it, but I just took it a step further. I had an extra jalapeno so I cut it into small slivers, coated it in some sesame oil and used the flour mixture and pan fried them. I served the scallops on a bed of instant potatoes (which I mixed in some of the papaya salsa) laid the pan seared scallops on top, dressed that with more salsa and topped each scallop with one fried jalapeno. We liked the flavor so much, I made it twice this week. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I used this recipe for the papaya sauce only as I do not like scallops. The sauce makes a lot, so we varied our dishes for it. Served over Tuna steaks (not bad), rolled in a tortilla with baked cod for a fish taco (pretty good) and ate as a dip with pita chips. I did refrigerate it for a couple hours to help the flavors blend, and it was better the next day. Doesn't keep long though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Definitely a keeper~the papaya sauce is not only delicious but very colorful. A great compliment for the pan seared scallops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States