Seared Scallops with Orange-Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Wonderful recipe! I have to say that I should have purchased some bigger sized scallops but small ones were fine! Bravo! So easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Vegetarian version! I don't do scallops, so I substituted button mushroom caps. The only thing I would do differently is double the sauce - it was scrumptious! I served angle hair pasta with the wilted spinach on top and the mushrooms and sauce on top of that. Mmmmmm.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Sorry, I was disappointed with this recipe. Saw a suggestion to use fresh O.J. Big mistake. It made the sauce very bitter so the scallops tasted bad. I added some shrimp in with the scallops and they tasted better. Guess the scallops absorb more flavors (good and bad) from the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This was a big hit at a luncheon I hosted for several of the fussiest ladies I know! I added a can of mandarin oranges along with the juice instead of the regular orange juice. FABULOUS! I have served this over brown rice, jasmine rice, linguine...very versatile! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPASQUASH

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Yum. Made exactly as the recipe has it listed and served with angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
Easy & good, fresh basil works, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Calabasas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
This is excellent. Great to serve to guests. I served over whole wheat pasta. I used fresh basil, and will use a lot more next time, really gives a great taste, and also fresh parm really makes a difference. I didn't add the butter, and used 1 cup of oj rather than 2/3 as some reviews mentioned for more sauce, but it wasn't necessary, and may have made it a tiny bit too orange-y. Bt still very good and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
I used fresh basil, and substituted Chilean sea bass for half of the scallops. I served it over angel hair pasta, and it was delicious! As good as any restaurant meal I've had, and super fast and easy. I will definitely make this again, and try other mild fish and shellfish, maybe even chicken, and serve with rice! I can't imagine going wrong with this recipe - it's a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This turned out really good. One of my fav dishes at a local cafe is orange seared scallops, this was better! I used double the orange juice (wanted a good amount of sauce for pasta) and put the scallops in with the sauce maybe 5 minutes. This was great over angel hair pasta with lots of fresh grated parmesan to up the creaminess. A new favorite dish, will be great for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I loved this recipe, but I actually used it with jumbo shrimp instead of scallops! It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States