Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This is a keeper! One of the best recipes I have made in a long, long time. Perfect as is - no changes are needed at all. Make sure your scallops are really dry - season them well and into a screaming hot pan. Don't move them until you flip them. You want to get them good and crispy on the outside. So delicious! Try them - you won't regret making this recipe! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I think I just died and went to heaven!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Great recipe Chef John!!! I added 1 clove of garlic, red onion about a tsp., a shake of dried basil, black pepper and a tsp. of agave sweetener. The direction for cooking them was perfect. I used unsalted butter and olive oil in the pan. This vinaigrette would also be good on a salad. This is why I love Allrecipes, you get so many wonderful ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This is a great recipe....but i experimented with the vinegar. I did one sauce with the rice vinegar per rec. I did another sauce with Trader Joe's Orange muscat champagne vinegar. The Orange muscat vinegar won hands down. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
This was sooooo yummy! I made the mistake of underestimating the heat of the jalapeno that I used, so I didn't use enough. I also cooked the scallops a little longer than what was recommended (family requirements---not me). This is very delicious and will be made numerous times in this household! Thanks once again, Chef John! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
This is EXCELLENT! I made it for a dinner party and everyone wanted the recipe. I would like to marry this man, but I'm already married...too bad what a chef he is!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
These were great, so easy to make and so flavorful! I used extra black pepper instead of cayenne. Followed the directions for cooking exactly and the scallops were cooked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
I thought the dressing was interesting, but it lacked the zip I was expecting based on the name - I tasted rice vinegar more than anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This was AMAZING! I prepared this for our 31st wedding anniversary dinner tonight for the two of us. I used Bab's (below) additions and substituted a Tangerine flavored balsamic vinegar for the rice one and 1 oz. of jar jalapenos drained, to save time on a fresh one. I served the seared fresh scallops with chilled sliced avocado wedges and orange sections with the dressing drizzled over generously. On the side , baked asagio cheese asparagus and tomatoes, with soft warm garlic bread to soak up the remaining vinaigrette! Hubby gave me a 5 STAR rating! It was well worth the high cost for fresh dry scallops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sylvania, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Delicious! The vinaigrette was nice and light and allowed the flavor of the sea scallops to shine (even my grocery store frozen dry sea scallops...all that was available in landlocked-middleofnowhere-PA). The only change I made was to sub yellow mustard for dijon per personal preference. Mr. LTH is a bit of sissypants when it comes to heat, so I was concerned w/the jalap vinaigrette and cayenne, but neither really added any significant heat (in fact, next time, I think I'll keep a bit of the membrane and/or seeds from the jalaps for a bit more heat). I'd never pan seared scallops before and, per usual, Chef John's directions were succinct and spot on. THANK YOU for an awesome recipe, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Scallops and Arugula with Lentils and Butter Bea

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States