Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This is a keeper! One of the best recipes I have made in a long, long time. Perfect as is - no changes are needed at all. Make sure your scallops are really dry - season them well and into a screaming hot pan. Don't move them until you flip them. You want to get them good and crispy on the outside. So delicious! Try them - you won't regret making this recipe! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This is a great recipe....but i experimented with the vinegar. I did one sauce with the rice vinegar per rec. I did another sauce with Trader Joe's Orange muscat champagne vinegar. The Orange muscat vinegar won hands down. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Great recipe Chef John!!! I added 1 clove of garlic, red onion about a tsp., a shake of dried basil, black pepper and a tsp. of agave sweetener. The direction for cooking them was perfect. I used unsalted butter and olive oil in the pan. This vinaigrette would also be good on a salad. This is why I love Allrecipes, you get so many wonderful ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This was AMAZING! I prepared this for our 31st wedding anniversary dinner tonight for the two of us. I used Bab's (below) additions and substituted a Tangerine flavored balsamic vinegar for the rice one and 1 oz. of jar jalapenos drained, to save time on a fresh one. I served the seared fresh scallops with chilled sliced avocado wedges and orange sections with the dressing drizzled over generously. On the side , baked asagio cheese asparagus and tomatoes, with soft warm garlic bread to soak up the remaining vinaigrette! Hubby gave me a 5 STAR rating! It was well worth the high cost for fresh dry scallops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sylvania, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Following the recipe exactly provided us with a delightful dinner! The vinaigrette was a delicious companion to the delicate scallops and oranges. This recipe perfectly illustrates why John is a chef and I am a cook: I simply carried out what the chef designed. I would never have thought of this combination of flavors, but I am certainly glad he did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I am so excited about the outcome of this recipe. Fantastic. The flavors explode in your mouth. I live on the shore so I was lucky enough to get scallops fresh off the boat! Make sure you dry your scallops before seasoning. Also don't season ahead of time as the scallops will dry out. Season right before the scallops hit the hot pan. I did strain the vinaigrette. Excellent! Thank You Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Family loved it. Used this an inspiration for scallops & pasta.I used a 5T less than 1/4 c rice vinegar but added 5T lime juice to make 1/4c. Added 1 more fresh jalapeno & minced garlic. Then breaded the scallops w/Italian bread crumbs, garlic powder, pepper, salt & parmesean cheese. Breaded & sauteed in pan w/ EVOO & butter 2-3min/side. Meanwhile cooked my pasta-set aside. In pan added this vinaigrette recipe to jar of Alfredo sauce; added garlic, basil, parsley, oregano, parmesean cheese & a little milk to mix. Added pasta & still a little tart. As scallops cooked added to pasta & added scallop pan scrapings to pasta (oil/bread crumbs cut the tartness). We like spice so a dash of red pepper flakes to kick it up. Served w/garlic bread & salad. Good even w/ frozen scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I think I just died and went to heaven!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I don't review enough of the recipes I steal. This one knocked my socks off. Tweaked just a bit (2 cloves of garlic and double the dijon, but the rest was as written). It is subtle and wonderful. My wife and I decided the perfect sides would be a nice alfredo pasta and some green beans with pine nuts and a bit of lemon zest. Restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Nice change of pace from my normal scallop recipes. Best of course with really good oranges, or you can omit the oranges in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Scallops and Arugula with Lentils and Butter Bea

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States