Seared Salmon with Indian-Inspired Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I expected to love this, however the sauce was extremely thin. I would start with a half cup of broth and add more only if necessary. If you served this with rice to soak up the liquid, you would still have leftovers if you followed the directions. I used fennel seed in place of the bulb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Decided not to sear but rather bake as I usually do. Poured the sauce over the salmon after 10 minutes in the oven. Will do it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zswanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I served this over a mixed rice and it was simply amazing. Fairly quick and easy and very, very tasty. I can already tell this will become a favorite for us. I had to make a few minor changes based on what I had in the house. I didn't have celery so I put in some diced red bell pepper instead. As far as the fennel goes, I used every part of it - the bulb, stems, and fronds. Like other reviewers, I also added in much more curry powder, probably about 1 Tbs total. Also, I didn't have saffron so that was left out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This was just ok for me. The only change I made was halving the broth to allow for a thicker sauce. It seemed to be lacking flavor. I think I would have prefered more spices in addition to the curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbopumpkin
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Interesting combination, yet it works! We had a lot of mushrooms and celery so added about 3x the amount and so ended up with less liquid in the sauce but the taste was still great! Will consider making again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbopumpkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This recipe was amazing! It was super easy, and extremely tasty. The sauce was incredible! Next time, I will cook the vegetables down a little more so they are more tender. Absolutely fantastic! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie Marie Haines

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Very good dinner. The saffron and curry combination in the sauce gave it a really delicate flavor and turned it a pretty yellow color. I roasted my salmon at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes, since I prefer roasted salmon to seared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This was amazing!! I served over shrimp instead of salmon all over angel hair. Such a rich and unique taste. Way to change up dinner time. It was something I would imagine I could only get at a restaurant! Sooooo good and super impressive! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I made this for my husband and friends and they RAVED about the taste! However, the sauce was quite watery so I'd recommend adding a little cornstarch to thicken it up. The following morning we thickened up the leftover sauce and added it to scrambled eggs. FABULOUS!!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yamlover

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Very good. I added a little lemon juice at the end to brighten it up a little. I also used half milk and half cream. I think I did end up needing to thicken the sauce a little with a cornstarch slurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Fennel-Smoked Salmon

See how to make delicious hot-smoked salmon and cherry tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States