Seared Ahi Tuna with Watercress, Chile, and Ginger Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
sooo good! tastes like the salad from a Thai restaurant. I would make this again with shrimp or chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I loved this recipe thank you Alex! I followed the recipe with few exceptions for personal preference. I omitted the sugar and used half olive oil and half sesame oil, and about 5 cloves of garlic. This recipe required very little tweaking to make me love it and my fiancé OFFERED to clean the kitchen afterwards! I have also made this recipe a second time using big mouth bass and grilling over a hot fire. This is a keeper. Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This recipe was SO good and SO easy! My husband loves seared tuna, and I've been looking for a raw watercress recipe, so this was the one for us. Everyone in the family liked it, even my 1 and 3 year old boys... I cooked my husband's rare, but liked that I could cook mine and the boys a little longer... easy peasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
WOW!!! Really, really enjoyed this one. I did it over a bed of spring mix. Wish I would have put a little more salad in my bowl. It was full on full of flavor and a very nice light meal. I used a jalapeño because that is what I had on hand. The only thing I will do different next time is to do the fish in my cast iron skillet because I didn't get a good seer using my heavy bottomed skillet. Make sure it is HOT!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Great salad. Cooked to recipe. Wasn't sure about the watercress and cilantro salad but it isn't as overpowering as it sounds. Good Thai flavors, very limey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I made this tonight with what I had of the recipe: didn't have any chile, but had all the other stuff. Also put it over a bed of butter lettuce because that's what I had. Oh boy, this was GOOD! I agree with the other reviews...this is incredibly versatile and very tasty! I WILL save this and do it again. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
My husband made this recipe for me and it was by far the best seared tuna dish we've ever had ... if you went to a restaurant you'd pay $50 a person for this flavorful meal. In fact, we're making it again tonight for out date night out ... in. And the salad is just as good. We used a lot of ginger because we love the flavor. Highly recommend this to anyone who is a fish lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
this was super awesome.. basically only used for the marinade.. might make the salad later.. but was mostly just craving seared ahi.. didn't need to salt or pepper the marinade/dressing as the fish sauce gave plenty of saltiness.. used 1/4 of the olive oil and quadrupled the garlic.. used serrano in place of the red chile pepper.. ty for satisfying my craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Added the amounts for the olive oil, and included ginger in the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Good dressing to start with for the tuna and the salad; however, adding soy sauce, wasabi paste really enhanced the flavor. Thanks Alex!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States