Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This is one of my favorite recipes!!! My husband and I seldom eat tuna out, as it is to often overcooked. We love having sushi out, but is a wonderful at-home alternative. We've eaten as is with potatoes on the side, on salads, or (more recently) in home-made wraps. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Just prepared tonight! fantastic! Absolutly perfect. Put the Ahi over a bed of lettuce, avacodoes and tomatoes with rice as a side. Presentation great and tasted wonderful. Did add alittle white wine, and garlic to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I had the same issue with the smokey oil, but turned down the heat before it got too bad. I also think it's important to note that the time for rare will vary dramatically depending on how cold your tuna is, or if it was previous frozen or not. We only did 2 minutes per side, and it was cooked all the way through. It was still delicious, but next time i'll probably only do 1 minute or less per side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I bought my tuna at Costco and it was big enough for two meals for the two of us. I used the same recipe for both meals and absolutely loved it. I cut back on the salt and just sprinkled Kosher salt lightly on both sides of the fish. I did a light covering with the cayenne as well. The first time I heated up the oil and butter and then added the peppercorns. I did not get any popping and the peppercorns were probably a bit or more on the burnt side. It still was delicious. The tuna had a nice crust on both sides and I cooked it for 1.5 minutes per side. We do like our ahi tuna rare. the second time I added the peppercorns to the pan before I heated up th butte and olive oil. There was a lot of popping going on as the oil heated. It didn't take long at all. Again I seared for 1.5 minutes and it was perfectly crusted and delicious. I served it with steamed spinach, a baked potato and tossed salad. I used the Good Seasons salad mix but subsitituted balsamic vinegar for the vinegar and EVOO for the oil. It is our favorite salad dressing;
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I made this dinner tonight for my boyfriend and he loved it. This was the first time I ever cooked tuna and the recipe was so helpful. I didn't have cayenne or peppercorns, so I had to use chili powder and black crushed pepper. Next time I make it I want to get the peppercorn and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Easy, simple seasonings, yet flavorful. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Simple, quick, and spectacular. My wife doesn't like the kick of cayenne, but a pinch of chipotle was a great, milder alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
We really liked it, but the peppercorns can be hazardous when they pop! They were shooting out of the pan all over the stove. Other than that it was really good. A bit spicy and plenty flavorful. With a side of brown rice and asparagus one tuna steak was enough for the two of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
done as directed but no butter-very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IUMGRAD2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States