Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Bland recipe, just some heat from the cayenne pepper and pepper corns. 1.5 minutes per side on medium high is nearly well done. Tolerable at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I'm cooking the ahi tonight. I have followed the recipe exactly as given twice. My family loved it! Even better, it's an easy-clean-up recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Great recipe. Super easy. The only change I made was to use less salt. I sprinkled coarsely ground sea salt on the filets but only used about 1/4 tsp in total. I couldn't get the peppercorns to pop, either, as some other reviewers mentioned, so I ended up crushing them with the flat side of a meat pounder while still in the skillet, before putting in the ahi tuna filets. It worked perfectly, coating the tuna in crushed peppercorns as it seared. I did cut back slightly on the time. I cooked it for only 60 seconds on each side and it was perfectly done. 90 seconds, as the recipe specifies, would have resulted in overcooked tuna. Next time I'm going to pre-crush the peppercorns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This was nothing special. I had the same issue a lot of others had in that the peppercorns wouldn't pop- they just burnt. I had to open all of my windows and doors. Funny thing is, when I tossed them into the sink they landed in a bowl of cold water and then popped... I made a couple of dipping sauces for this tuna that really saved it. A hollandaise sauce and a soy sauce/brown sugar mixture. Both got rave reviews. While I'll be making this recipe again, I definitely wont be using peppercorns and I'll always make sure to have a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Phenomenal. Only change is to reduce the salt a bit. I had a very smoky house afterwards but it was so worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Wow! This was "plate-licking" delicious! I've never bought Ahi Tuna before, but because of this recipe I am definitely hooked. It's hard to believe something so easy is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Excellent! Simple, tasty. I couldn't get the peppercorns to pop before the oil/butter started smoking, but it didn't affect the recipe. I've now included this in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Delicious!! Easy and amazing! I omitted the cayenne pepper due to serving it to kids. I tipped the pan so most of the peppercorns were on one side. I made the "grown up" pieces in the heavy pepper side and made the kids pieces light on pepper side and it was amazing for the whole family. I seared each piece 2 min on each side due to having really thick pieces. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trose
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Super yummy! I did not measure salt or cayenne, but just sprinkled it on each side. I also coated each side in sesame seeds before searing and used homemade dill butter instead of regular butter. I had a 1 inch think steak and cooked it two minutes each side. Definitely would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Very simple and delicious! For those worried about the amount of salt, you have to remember the recipe calls for kosher salt. A teaspoon of kosher salt is much different than a teaspoon of table salt. Toss that nasty table salt away! You will taste the difference when you start using good salt. That said, if your tuna steak is thin, you should definitely use less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States