Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This was very easy and tasty, however the entire house filled with smoke and I literally had to open all the windows and have my husband take our baby outside. Now I'm no cook, but I thought this was odd because I followed the directions exactly as they were written. Next time I will cook at a lower heat and forget about trying to pop the peppercorns, because this was when the oil began to burn and fill the house with smoke (and they never popped anyway).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
407 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Absolutely wonderful! And my husband raved about it as well. I did have to cook the peppercorns a bit longer as mentioned in another review, but it was worth it. I'll make it again for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
322 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Weston, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This is very good but there is too much salt in the recipe. I made this for 4 and the recipe called for 2 tsp kosher salt. I only used 1 tsp and it was still salty. But other than that, everyone loved it. Will definitely make again. Just with less salt. I also used yellow tail tuna steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This recipe was great! I didnt cook my Ahi nearly as long though. Typically seared means just that, if your pan is hot enough it should be just a quick cook on high heat to seal in the juices. I think I cooked it a total of 20-30 SECONDS per side. The out side had a wonderful crust and the inside was raw. (Make sure you use Sushi Grade fish) It was UH-MAY-ZING! I used my cast iron pan on med/high-high heat. It tasted just like seared Ahi that I have had in fancy restaurants. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tess
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
YUM! Agree REDUCE THE SALT, You can always add more if you want. I didn't have any cayenne so I used a little chili powder and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Very easy and tasty on a bed of lettuce. I used a Teriyake marinade. Go very easy on additional salt as the marinade is plenty salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Excellent!! Can't screw this one up. I'm a total beginner and this was my first time handling tuna steak. My BF and I absolutely loved it. Followed directions exactly except I just sprinkled a little bit less salt on them. Paired this with spinach steamed with minced garlic and I thought they went well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Nice simple recipe for a good piece of tuna. A few things though, first off I would advise to heat the skillet with oil and butter BEFORE seasoning the fish. If you put the salt on too early it will dry the fish out by drawing out the moisture. Second, I used only a pinch of salt on each side so maybe even a little less than what this calls for but its all about personal taste. Lastly I added a few splashes of white wine when I put the steaks in the pan. It not only adds a nice flavor to the fish but if you then take out the fish and add a little more wine while the pan is really hot it will deglaze your pan and leave you with a really nice white wine and peppercorn reduction (or pan gravy however you wanna call it) for your fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sactown_Baker

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This was delicious. My husband loved it!!! We had it just Monday and we are having company tomorrow and he has requested we have it again. The only changes I made is I used just regular pepper and sprinkled it on the fish and omitted the butter and just used the olive oil. Great meal and very, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce
Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Made this last night and was leary of popping peppers but I watched them thru a glass lidded frying pan. Pretty neat. I think that the older the pepper, the less likely it is to pop as about half of mine popped. We like our tuna well done so I did it 3 minutes per side on med-high. A lovely dish that DH says is a keeper and to make again, anytime. I think I'll wait until it warms up here a bit though since my vent is frozen over and it's too cold to open the windows (-40 C/F) to get the smoke out! I would think that this would be good done in a cast iron fry pan directly on the BBQ coals, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States