Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Super easy, especially using coconut oil instead of butter....not as smoky, tastes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
First, butter on medium high with the peppercorns burned in 5 min. I pitched that and started again on medium & it took a while for the peppercorns to soften. I think I would have preferred crushed pepper as it did not coat the steaks the way I hoped. I cooked the first side for 2 min but I should have left off the lid bc they cooked (Steamed?) too quickly. The other side I kept to 1 1/2 min. I think the fish was a bit dry and (still slightly pink but) over cooked. The taste was good but I would liked to have a more even coat of peppercorns. I also found it difficult to slice into neat strips. I think the recipe is OK/good but my execution wasn't great so I hope my notes help someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
We just added a little of low sodium soy sauce to serve. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xoyita

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Bland recipe, just some heat from the cayenne pepper and pepper corns. 1.5 minutes per side on medium high is nearly well done. Tolerable at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I'm cooking the ahi tonight. I have followed the recipe exactly as given twice. My family loved it! Even better, it's an easy-clean-up recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Great recipe. Super easy. The only change I made was to use less salt. I sprinkled coarsely ground sea salt on the filets but only used about 1/4 tsp in total. I couldn't get the peppercorns to pop, either, as some other reviewers mentioned, so I ended up crushing them with the flat side of a meat pounder while still in the skillet, before putting in the ahi tuna filets. It worked perfectly, coating the tuna in crushed peppercorns as it seared. I did cut back slightly on the time. I cooked it for only 60 seconds on each side and it was perfectly done. 90 seconds, as the recipe specifies, would have resulted in overcooked tuna. Next time I'm going to pre-crush the peppercorns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This was nothing special. I had the same issue a lot of others had in that the peppercorns wouldn't pop- they just burnt. I had to open all of my windows and doors. Funny thing is, when I tossed them into the sink they landed in a bowl of cold water and then popped... I made a couple of dipping sauces for this tuna that really saved it. A hollandaise sauce and a soy sauce/brown sugar mixture. Both got rave reviews. While I'll be making this recipe again, I definitely wont be using peppercorns and I'll always make sure to have a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Phenomenal. Only change is to reduce the salt a bit. I had a very smoky house afterwards but it was so worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Wow! This was "plate-licking" delicious! I've never bought Ahi Tuna before, but because of this recipe I am definitely hooked. It's hard to believe something so easy is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Excellent! Simple, tasty. I couldn't get the peppercorns to pop before the oil/butter started smoking, but it didn't affect the recipe. I've now included this in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States