Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Do not use olive oil for high heat. It smokes too much. Canopy or vegetable is better for fish at high heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy Henderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
With such a beautiful protein I was looking for simple, but flavorful. I didn't want anything that would overpower the flavor of the tuna. This recipe fits the bill! Just fancy enough with the pepper technique to impress my family...with little effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Excellent! Only add the amount of salt you are comfortable with or what you think would taste good. I actually had about half salt, half cayenne, and I don't think I used the entire quantity of salt called for. As for cooking, I used cracked peppercorns, and I sauteed them in the butter and oil on medium heat so the butter did not burn. Once that was done after a minute or so, I cranked the heat up to high and put in the tuna. I cut my tuna filet (originally a 1 lb filet) into 2 pieces so it made 2 rectangular fillets similar to what is in the photo. I seared the top and bottom of each filet for 20 seconds and the left and right sides of each for 10 seconds leaving a beautiful cold red center and about 2 millimeters of seared meat on the edges. The end result was awesome. I sliced the fillets just like the photo and served over a bed of salad greens. I had nothing but compliments. Also, I bought my filet at Costco. No issues whatsoever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fernon
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Excellent as written. I used previously frozen Ahi from Sprouts meat case and served over baby spinach and topped with fresh orange ginger dressing. Great paired with Merlot. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Love it, but my peppercorns never pop! Do yours?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Super easy, especially using coconut oil instead of butter....not as smoky, tastes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
First, butter on medium high with the peppercorns burned in 5 min. I pitched that and started again on medium & it took a while for the peppercorns to soften. I think I would have preferred crushed pepper as it did not coat the steaks the way I hoped. I cooked the first side for 2 min but I should have left off the lid bc they cooked (Steamed?) too quickly. The other side I kept to 1 1/2 min. I think the fish was a bit dry and (still slightly pink but) over cooked. The taste was good but I would liked to have a more even coat of peppercorns. I also found it difficult to slice into neat strips. I think the recipe is OK/good but my execution wasn't great so I hope my notes help someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
We just added a little of low sodium soy sauce to serve. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xoyita

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Bland recipe, just some heat from the cayenne pepper and pepper corns. 1.5 minutes per side on medium high is nearly well done. Tolerable at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I'm cooking the ahi tonight. I have followed the recipe exactly as given twice. My family loved it! Even better, it's an easy-clean-up recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States