Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This was so amazingly easy and tasted wonderful. Definitely turn on the hood fan as there is some smoke while heating the peppercorns (as others encountered). I also cooked it less than the 1 1/2 minutes on each side to keep it fairly raw. This is one that will be printed and kept in the recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
we made this exactly as written. it was good, but not spectacular. served with soy sauce for added flavor. I'd try something different next time, but this is okay in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
AWESOME! Followed recipe to a T! Just AWESOME! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESTWINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Do not use olive oil for high heat. It smokes too much. Canopy or vegetable is better for fish at high heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy Henderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
With such a beautiful protein I was looking for simple, but flavorful. I didn't want anything that would overpower the flavor of the tuna. This recipe fits the bill! Just fancy enough with the pepper technique to impress my family...with little effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Excellent! Only add the amount of salt you are comfortable with or what you think would taste good. I actually had about half salt, half cayenne, and I don't think I used the entire quantity of salt called for. As for cooking, I used cracked peppercorns, and I sauteed them in the butter and oil on medium heat so the butter did not burn. Once that was done after a minute or so, I cranked the heat up to high and put in the tuna. I cut my tuna filet (originally a 1 lb filet) into 2 pieces so it made 2 rectangular fillets similar to what is in the photo. I seared the top and bottom of each filet for 20 seconds and the left and right sides of each for 10 seconds leaving a beautiful cold red center and about 2 millimeters of seared meat on the edges. The end result was awesome. I sliced the fillets just like the photo and served over a bed of salad greens. I had nothing but compliments. Also, I bought my filet at Costco. No issues whatsoever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fernon
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Excellent as written. I used previously frozen Ahi from Sprouts meat case and served over baby spinach and topped with fresh orange ginger dressing. Great paired with Merlot. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Love it, but my peppercorns never pop! Do yours?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Super easy, especially using coconut oil instead of butter....not as smoky, tastes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
First, butter on medium high with the peppercorns burned in 5 min. I pitched that and started again on medium & it took a while for the peppercorns to soften. I think I would have preferred crushed pepper as it did not coat the steaks the way I hoped. I cooked the first side for 2 min but I should have left off the lid bc they cooked (Steamed?) too quickly. The other side I kept to 1 1/2 min. I think the fish was a bit dry and (still slightly pink but) over cooked. The taste was good but I would liked to have a more even coat of peppercorns. I also found it difficult to slice into neat strips. I think the recipe is OK/good but my execution wasn't great so I hope my notes help someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States