Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
So easy and perfectly seasoned. The peppercorns were delicious. I didn't cook it with butter: just added a little more oil. I also kept the cayenne down to a pinch on each side. My husband was so impressed (and it was the first time I cooked fish!!). Yay me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
So simple and so excellent! My wife raved about it when I fixed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Really good and really simple, I used fresh ground pepper instead of peppercorns and the pepper started sizzling as soon as i ground it into the pan w/the olive oil and butter, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Perfect! I am not much of a seafood type person however my boyfriend is and several months ago I made this for dinner for him and it was a hit! Very easy recipe to prepare, I use fresh wild caught tuna and it turns out exactly the same every time and better then restaurant quality. Great recipe for those with little seafood cooking experience
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristinaLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grove City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Have made this five times now and we love it. I consider it a company level recipe. Only a few peppercorns pop, but they soften in the oil and have such a mild delicious flavor that I double the amount. The cayenne is too much for me so I sprinkle it generously on my husband's and just a tad on mine, and I skip the salt when cooking and lightly salt when serving. As we're not raw fish eaters I sear it but then cook it completely through and we find it just right for us, plenty moist having been cooked in the oil and butter. (This also allows me to use Trader Joe's frozen ahi steaks, 3/4" thick, which cost half or less.) After having leftovers one time which I made into a tuna salad, yummy with the pepper and cayenne flavors, I now always cook a double recipe and we have salad the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
An easy way to cook tuna that tastes like something you would eat in a restaurant. Definitely worth 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This was fantastic. Already cooked it for my husband and sister who both loved it. My husband never liked Ahi Tuna! He does now. The only problem was the peppercorns never popped. Instead the butter/oil blackened first. So I just used regular ground pepper and it was great. Clarified (Ghee) butter works the best with the Olive Oil and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was not good. The seasoning did nothing to compliment the tuna. Tuna isn't cheap and I feel like I wasted it on this recipe. I am honestly shocked that so many people seemed to enjoy this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Very salty, and I used half the salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Amazing and super easy, I will definitely be making this again and again!! Before this dish I had never made fish that I liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States