Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I loved that this recipe was simple, yet tasty. I almost added garlic and I'm glad I didn't, because it wasn't necessary! I used extra virgin olive oil, which was a mistake (and admittedly not exactly what the recipe calls for; I presume the recipe's author meant light olive oil). Next time I will omit the butter and use an oil with a higher smoke point to prevent smoke in the house and potentially dangerous chemicals in my food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I tried this tonight because my husband is a truck driver and I wanted to practice so I could surprise him when he comes home next week. I have made Salmon, Talapia, etc...But never attempted seared Tuna. I left out the cayenne (not that into spicy seafood) other than that, I followed the recipe as written. It was AWESOME! Next time I will only cook MAX 1 minute per side. It was a little well done for me at 1.5 minutes per side. Even the peppercorn softened and popped for me and added a wonderful flavor. I can't wait to say "surprise! We're having seared Ahi Tuna tonight"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
LOVED this recipe. Tuna is my favorite fish, but I had never made it myself before last night! I had two tuna steaks from Fresh Market in the freezer and decided to try this. I did everything except use cayenne and kosher salt. I couldn't find my cayenne, so I used Cajun seasoning and I used my garlic sea salt instead of kosher. I love my tuna rare, so that's where I messed up. I think I did 3 minutes on each side and that was way too long. The pan will be VERY hot, so if you want it rare, you have to move quickly. They were still delicious, but way more cooked than I like. I'm going to go to FM and get more! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Fantastic! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Omg. Loved it. For a novice in the kitchen, this was a welcome recipe, easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I looooooved this recipe. I have never eaten a tuna steak before and now I think I am in love. I don't know if it was the tuna from Trader Joe's or the recipe itself, but this was fantastically delicious. I made it almost exactly as instructed except I didn't have peppercorns or butter, so I swapped them for ground pepper and coconut oil, respectively. I also think I would have liked my steaks slightly more rare, so I will be searing for 1 min on each side next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RazzyHoHo
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This was so amazingly easy and tasted wonderful. Definitely turn on the hood fan as there is some smoke while heating the peppercorns (as others encountered). I also cooked it less than the 1 1/2 minutes on each side to keep it fairly raw. This is one that will be printed and kept in the recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
we made this exactly as written. it was good, but not spectacular. served with soy sauce for added flavor. I'd try something different next time, but this is okay in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
AWESOME! Followed recipe to a T! Just AWESOME! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESTWINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Do not use olive oil for high heat. It smokes too much. Canopy or vegetable is better for fish at high heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy Henderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States