Sean's Mommy's Roasted Root Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I only had turnips, sweet potatoes and carrots, but it turned out fantastic! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Roasted root veggies are the way to go in the winter. This recipe makes a ton, so make sure you have a pretty big sheet pan or roasting dish. I add cayenne and cinnamon to all my roasted veg for a sweet/spicy kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I had no butternut squash, so I added a yam to the mix as well as some rosemary. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RandyO
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Gave this a try tonight - following the recipe loosely. Added an extra parsnip or two, and an onion and a little garlic. This was easy to put together, other than cutting up the root veggies which is always a challenge for me. It turned out really well. I think next time I may try to add some balsamic as suggested by another reviewer, but overall I was happy with the results. I ended up going about 55 mins using convection roast. Probably could have done another 15 mins because not all of the edges were as browned as I like, but again, this gets into the area of personal preference. I may try this for a potluck sometime. I think that people will be surprised just how good a wide mixture of winter vegetables can taste! Thx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandyO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurens, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Delicious! I added beet greens and kale, and the root veggies offset the bitterness of the kale. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Simple recipe but very tasty and easy! I always add onions and I usually add about 1-2 Tbs of balsamic vinegar (flavored or regular) and it really adds a unique depth of flavor that goes very well with the veggies! It's also delicious with the addition of herbs like rosemary or italian seasonings. This is a staple for us in our household during fall and winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Thank you Sean's Mommy!! I only used turnips, sweet potatoes, celery, baby carrots and onions. My son and I never had turnips before and I wanted my first experiment with them to be a good one! This recipe did the trick! I added a small dash of balsamic in the "coat". We both had doubles and it's always a success when he doesn't choose to drown his food in either ketchup or ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CALICOOKIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I used what I had which was baby carrots and 4 turnips. I sprinkled in some dark balsamic before roasting. Since I had a smaller amount, I took them out at 35 minutes. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Great! Since any root vegies are fine, I used parsnips, carrots, onions and sweet potatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was fantastic! I served it at Thanksgiving this year & it is now one that I will serve every year. I actually cut up all the veggies the night before & then placed them in Ziploc bags in the fridge; I roasted them the next day. One note: I roasted them for almost 90 minutes, not the 45 noted in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Chef John’s Root Vegetable Gratin

See how to make a simple cheesy gratin with root vegetables and potatoes.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States