Sean's Mommy's Roasted Root Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Roasting vegetables adds so much flavor. I add onions and garlic to these veggies and serve them over pasta. A little balsamic vinegar adds more flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
A little bland. I divided into 2 casserole dishes and ended up adding some red wine to the second which did help. Would definitely add something to this, such as onions and garlic as suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I made a few substitutions based on what I had (carrots, butternut squash, turnip and golden beet only). But the basic idea I think was the same and it came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This recipe was a great way to prepare several root veggies together. I did cut them up and marinate with EVOO and some other spices before putting them in the oven. My husband really enjoyed them. However, I only had to cook for 30 minutes@ 450.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I did not use the squash as it is not a roo vegetable but used everything else.I cut up a large onion and some celery to the mix of parsnips, rutabaga, turnips,sweet potatoes, regular potato, and carrots. I toss the veggies with olive oil and some fresh basil or lemon basil. I have to make a huge pan of these so I can have some left over to use in veggie soup or oxtail soup. During the fall, my church also requests the roasted veggies very often.Some of the people say they don't like this veg or that one but when I tell them they ate them in the mix, they are astonished. Kudos to Sean' Mom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Used this recipe to guide my own mixture of roasted roots. Cooked beneath a roasting chicken for the last 45 minutes of cooking, using the drippings for oil and hitting with salt and pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Didn't have parsnips or butternut squash. Added regular potato, garlic cloves and onions. Got turnips and rutabaga from our CSA and never cooked or tasted before. If, like me, you never had these veggies before then this recipe is a great introduction to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was a fantastic addition to our Thanksgiving dinner! It was a first for many to try different vegetables. I added red onion and since the turkey was in the oven at 325, I roasted the veggies for 1 1/2 hours. The next morning, I served a hash with the leftovers, 2 russet potatoes and sausage and over-easy eggs on top. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dillon, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Very disappointing. The vegs do not all cook at the same time. Will not use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This was a really tasty, flexible recipe. I only had a rutabaga, the turnips, and a butternut squash on hand, but that was still a great combo. I tossed some garlic powder, onion powder, kosher salt, and pepper. The flavors are great, but it also really presents well - the reds, whites, and oranges are beautiful! Also reheats well (I just finished some leftovers for lunch!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Chef John’s Root Vegetable Gratin

See how to make a simple cheesy gratin with root vegetables and potatoes.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States