Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I liked it a lot! It was tasty but a bit dry, so next time I'll skip the bread crumbs..! Also, I didn't try the sauce, but instead I served them with same fresh tomato chunky sauce and plain greek yogurt! My husband loved them! So, it's 4.5/5 for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellouni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thessaloniki, Central Macedonia, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
We loved it! I used ready made OPA Feta and Dill yogurt dressing instead of making my own yogurt sauce and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madams
Home Town: Newberry, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I guess I'm not the falafel type.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yiayia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I was very disappointed in this recipe. As soon as we put it into the frying pan, the patties just crumbled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This was good, but has a lot of moisture in it and therefore needs a lot more than 1 cup of bread crumbs to keep it together. I don't think the tablespoon of olive oil is necessary nor possibly the egg. My first batch just fell apart in the oil. I had to add a lot more bread crumbs to keep the shape. Other than that, the flavor was nice. I doubled the garlic because we like things garlicky around here. Also the sauce was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Mae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
My first falafel, it was soo good. I added my Cajun seasoning mix to it (pepper/paprika/oregano/sage/garlic powder/cayenne) and it was most delicious! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Absolutely great! We didn't make the cucumber sauce, because we don't like it as a rule, so the 5 stars are for the burgers themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This was pretty bad. I followed the recipe exactly except I baked it, which would account for the dryness, but not the taste and texture, which were both pretty awful. Maybe it was the breadcrumbs I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Oh my lord...after years of dry, hard, boxed mix falafel, this was a revelation! And easy to make, too. I'm a twenty-something who likes to try new foods in the kitchen, and this is definitely something I will make again. And, you can do it gluten-free if you use crushed Chex cereal for the bread crumbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I solved the issue of the falafel patties falling apart in the oil by reducing the bread crumbs to a half cup. I also added a 1/2 cup of fresh cilantro instead of the ground coriander, which helped even more. The falafel mixture is much wetter this way, so I rolled the patties in a little whole wheat flour before frying. Use baking soda NOT powder. The cucumber sauce needed salt for balance,but it got better everyday. This was a good base-line recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cohasset, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 872) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States