Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by recoveringkerr
Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Perfect! Not one complaint. Followed the recipe exactly except I did bake these as well and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recoveringkerr
Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly up until the frying part. I formed the balls, pressed them into a patty, put them on a baking sheet fitted with a cookie rack (so air can go underneath). You do not need to flip them and they did not fall apart. They are drier when you don't fry but it is an option for people who don't want to eat too much fried food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
This is our favorite falafel recipe! I skip the pita bread and eat the falafel and cucumber sauce right over a green salad with lots of cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
USE FLOUR INSTEAD OF bread crumbs!! Like others, when I used bread crumbs, it fell apart in the oil - using about 1/4 cup of flour in the place of the bread crumbs gives it a great solution, firms it up some, and definitely keeps it stuck together. If you don't know the temperature of the oil, just start at mid/low (4 out of 10) and go up from there. This recipe makes about 12 balls slightly smaller than ping pong balls. I also used fresh cilantro in place of the ground coriander, and used dried parsley instead of fresh (just had that on hand) - turned out perfect. I have served on pita like a gyro, but also have served with a yogurt/avocado/cilantro dressing as an appetizer. They are good now matter how you serve them! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Delicious as is. Next time I'll try baking like others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I didn't care for this, but my husband absolutely loved it! I don't have a frier, I just attempted to pan-fry but it didn't exactly work. I ended up with a bowl of falafel makings. That being said, the flavor was DEAD ON.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I made this exactly as written except my blender wouldn't blend the parsely, onion and garlic, so I added the olive oil to it and then it blended up well, and I baked them as some others suggested because frying can be so messy. delicous with tomato, spinach and olives on flatbread. The cucumber sauce is a must! Oh, I also used garlic powder instead of fresh garlic in the sauce because I don't like raw garlic. I doubled the recipe and it made more than 8 falafel. I don't know why people complained about mashing the chick peas, I used a potato masher. It isn't necessary to mash them completely, I had some whole chick peas in my falafel and it was great. this tasted a lot like other falafel I've had, no need to change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Baked at 400 for 20 min. a side. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boukey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Delish! I have been making baked falafel for years. Last night I tried Sean's recipe - the difference being the addition of breadcrumbs and frying. What a complete difference - they cooked in about 90 seconds, and were so light and crispy. Absolutely delightful. They absorbed little of the hot oil. I won't make them this way all the time, but I sure will some of the times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 914) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce

Simple and quick recipe to prepare that delivers lots of Mediterranean flavors.

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States