Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
USE FLOUR INSTEAD OF bread crumbs!! Like others, when I used bread crumbs, it fell apart in the oil - using about 1/4 cup of flour in the place of the bread crumbs gives it a great solution, firms it up some, and definitely keeps it stuck together. If you don't know the temperature of the oil, just start at mid/low (4 out of 10) and go up from there. This recipe makes about 12 balls slightly smaller than ping pong balls. I also used fresh cilantro in place of the ground coriander, and used dried parsley instead of fresh (just had that on hand) - turned out perfect. I have served on pita like a gyro, but also have served with a yogurt/avocado/cilantro dressing as an appetizer. They are good now matter how you serve them! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Delicious as is. Next time I'll try baking like others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I didn't care for this, but my husband absolutely loved it! I don't have a frier, I just attempted to pan-fry but it didn't exactly work. I ended up with a bowl of falafel makings. That being said, the flavor was DEAD ON.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I made this exactly as written except my blender wouldn't blend the parsely, onion and garlic, so I added the olive oil to it and then it blended up well, and I baked them as some others suggested because frying can be so messy. delicous with tomato, spinach and olives on flatbread. The cucumber sauce is a must! Oh, I also used garlic powder instead of fresh garlic in the sauce because I don't like raw garlic. I doubled the recipe and it made more than 8 falafel. I don't know why people complained about mashing the chick peas, I used a potato masher. It isn't necessary to mash them completely, I had some whole chick peas in my falafel and it was great. this tasted a lot like other falafel I've had, no need to change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Baked at 400 for 20 min. a side. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boukey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Delish! I have been making baked falafel for years. Last night I tried Sean's recipe - the difference being the addition of breadcrumbs and frying. What a complete difference - they cooked in about 90 seconds, and were so light and crispy. Absolutely delightful. They absorbed little of the hot oil. I won't make them this way all the time, but I sure will some of the times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I thought this turned out great! Way better than anything store bought! I did make a couple changes to the tzatziki sauce- I added a dash of lemon juice, ts of garlic, and I diced up some Jarred jalepenios to give it some spicy and salty hints.i also baked the falafel instead of fry. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I made some alterations but it came out great--held together very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
We just tried this recipe ,I Followed the recipe as is and would'nt change a thing it was awesome,loved the sauce,it was a great touch to add a little mayo. This will be one of my meatless Monday dishes from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melzina hudson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hometown, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This was my first time making falafel and this recipe was quite easy to follow and the end product was quite good. The falafel itself was bursting with flavor and the sauce was on point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alberto Orozco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 900) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce

Simple and quick recipe to prepare that delivers lots of Mediterranean flavors.

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States