Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
My first time making falafels and my boyfriend's first time trying them. We ate them all in one sitting, then I made them again the following week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly and they turned out amazing! The first one I fried fell apart but then I remembered that I forgot to refrigerate the mixture. Refrigerated for 15 minutes and they didn't fall apart again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Yum! First time making homemade falafel and I loved this. I just made WAY more than 8 patties....The first batch (about half the mix) made about 8 large patties, and then I made a second batch with the remainder into smaller balls (about half the size of first) and got about 10 out of that. So I would recommend ignoring the instruction for 8 patties and go with the size you find manageable. I liked the smaller balls, more crisp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Amazing falafel! My family was so happy, and the recipe is really quite easy. I had trouble with the balls falling apart in the oil, but only a few. Thanks to others' reviews I figured out that the smaller you make them the less they crumble and it worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VHanko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This was awesome! I made one batch, cleaned the kitchen, then after tasting, promptly got out all the ingredients for another go round. I had only half the parsley needed this time, so used fresh cilantro and baby spinach. Also forgot the oil, but didn't taste a difference, so won't use in the future. I also baked as a commenter suggested at 400 degrees for ten min on each side. I made mine using rounded tablespoonfuls, about the size of a chicken nugget, and each batch made about 35 delicious nuggets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Parrott

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I had been messing with a prepackaged falafel mix over the years, each time being disappointed with the results (actually throwing it in the garbage!). So I decided to try it homemade. This is the first recipe I tried and I am very pleased with it. No need for me to look for another. I have made it successfully twice now and I will definately make it again. I didn't make the sauce so I have no comment on that. But the falafel is a winner for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
As I write this I have a huge mess in my kitchen that I am dreading cleaning up....I made the recipe exactly as stated except that I switched the baking powder for baking soda. I made 8 nice patties, heated my up the oil and carefully place the patties in the oil. after about 2 minutes they completely fell apart. I ended up with an oil mess of mush that I had to strain. The only reason I am giving this 2 stars is because the cucumber sauce was good and I did put some of the mush in a pita and ate it with lettuce, tomatoes and the sauce....it was ok....definitely NOT worth the mess I am looking at right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
These were everything I had hoped for! Loved them! Thank you! Can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I made the falafel but not the cucumber sauce. The falafel was amazing. The only difference I made was I baked them on parchment instead of frying. I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This was awesomely delicious. Unlike my past attempts at falafel they stayed as tasty balls when fried and did not disintegrate into a goop of tiny bits. I followed the recipe as written except I added 2 T of flour as suggested and made them 1" diameter balls (~ 2 dozen) instead of patties. They were perfectly crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. Try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 869) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States