Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I've tried several versions, but this one is by far the best. The only changes I made was to use leeks instead of onion, and I used less bread crumbs. My Egyptian husband declared it "wonderful". Thank you for this special treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I really like these. Next time I'll try baking them in the oven as suggested by another reviewer: Preheat the oven at 400 degrees F. Bake 10 minutes, flip, then another 10 minutes. Then broil each side for 2 minutes. I served with tomatoes, lettuce and pita bread. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I could tell everyone was nervous that I was making this for family night dinner. They all were happy that I did after the meal. I followed this recipe but used the "baked falafel" recipe method of cooking for less fat (on pan with 2 tsp. of olive oil for 3 mins on each side and then baked @ 400 for ten minutes). I did not use this cucumber sauce but made the "tzatziki" by Teina P. I can't wait to eat it for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This was an excellent recipe! The only change I made was to add baking soda instead of the baking powder. I also did like the recipe said and added the bread crumbs little by little until it was the correct consistency to make patties. I think I ended up using a little less than 3/4 cup. I fried the patties. The sauce was good too. My husband liked it better than the regular yogurt cucumber sauce I normally make for falafel. This falafel recipe along with the sauce will be my new standard. We didn't use feta cheese to top it this time and agreed it would be better if we did. So, I would suggest adding it on top. It gives it a really nice, salty zing! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Perfect! This is as good as the falafel's in the Middle East. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
the flavor/seasoning of the falafel was good but i found cooking it in oil burned it way too easily...i'll try baking it next time..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Only needed 1/2 of the sauce. The spice and bread crumbs were the correct amounts for me. I made the patties and put them into the fridge until I was ready to cooks them. Next time I will make them into little balls --like mini meatballs. My kids even ate this (one with ketchup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Sean, you are right! I did not alter the recipe in any way. My boyfriend, who is very meat-&-potatoes and who I am sure has never even a chickpea, was so in love with the cucumber sauce that I almost didn't have any for the falafel cakes when they were done. The flavor of the cakes was very, very nice but the cucumber sour cream sauce is "the bomb". It will be our new holiday dip; it deserves a recipe entry all of its own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
These are restaurant-quality falafels. I follow the recipe exactly, making my "pinch" of cayenne pepper and "dash" of black pepper very generous. The seasoning is spot-on. I use a pastry cutter to mash the chickpeas (it's faster than a fork). In one batch I took the time to remove the skins from the chickpeas, but I didn't notice any major textural difference so I just leave them on now. I once pressed the mix into burger-sized patties -- falafel burgers! Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
So good! Used baking soda instead of baking powder as someone suggested. Otherwise I followed the recipe as written, although I eyeballed the bread crumbs. Very yummy!! Will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgallo80

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 891) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce

Simple and quick recipe to prepare that delivers lots of Mediterranean flavors.

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States