Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I never, repeat.. never, write reviews. But for this dish I'm really compelled to say something. It's really very easy, makes a TON (I didn't realize a single can of beans go make so much), and it tastes delicious. I make these for my wife and I on a weekly basis! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda P
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
These were fantastic! Ive never had falafels and these were a wonderful surprise! Great texture, stayed together well, fried great. I would leave out half the amount of salt next time though, otherwise, they were GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
My family really liked this meal & I was surprised at how easy it is to make. MUCH better than the packaged falafel mixes I bought at Middle East markets. I will be making my own falafel from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne England

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This was a big hit for a no meat, "Friday in Lent" meal. I recommend making the cucumber sauce first, and put it in the fridge to let the flavors mingle. We substituted the baking powder with baking soda, per the comments regarding foaming issues. Also added 2 small cloves of garlic to the cucumber sauce, and made one batch with and one without the dill. The one with the dill was our favorite. I actually mashed the cucumber sauce mixture with a potato masher to squish up the cucumbers more and let the flavors get released. Had no coriander, but it still turned out great! We used 1 tablespoon dried parsley instead of fresh (no fresh on hand) as well. We baked the falafel instead of fried, per some suggestions of reviewers - 400 degrees for 10 minutes on a nonstick sprayed pan, flipped and another 10 minutes. This recipe is great. We did do some variations, but that is not to take away from the recipe - loved the texture and flavor of the falafel and the sauce. I think this is a very versatile recipe, so don't be afraid to make it your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Super delicious! My husband requested to have this recipe multiple times a month. Even my 2 year old loves the falafels. I didn't make the cucumber sauce- the mayo turned me. We use Tzatziki Sauce I with this recipe and they are amazing together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Tasted good but it was really hard to get the patty to stay together. I baked instead of fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
It's a decent recipe, but I found the mixture too bland. I added 1 TB flax seed - ground. Then I added 1/2 tb of oregano for flavor. Lastly, I added 1 cup basmati rice half cooked for thickening. Then I let it set in my fridge for a hour or so. Now it's perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Jerusalem

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This satisfied the need for a "meatless Monday" dinner and my craving for falafel lately! Made almost per recipe: I didn't have fresh parsley, so I tossed a couple handfuls of organic baby spinach leaves into my food processor, which worked perfectly! I used 1/2 bread crumbs and 1/2 Panko (the full cup) and baked them according to the top reviewer's suggestions. Next time (oh yes, there will be a next time), I'll reduce the salt and cumin a bit. Due to lack of needed ingredients, I had to sub out light sour cream for the plain Greek yogurt and use dried chives, as I didn't have any fresh (or dried) dill. Added a little minced garlic and some onion powder to the cucumber sauce and it was incredibly tasty! Served with tabouli and fresh diced tomatoes and feta, this was perfectly filling and will definitely remain on the Meatless Monday rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
So easy to make and so good. I used canned chickpeas and it was perfect. A must meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 901) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce

Simple and quick recipe to prepare that delivers lots of Mediterranean flavors.

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States