Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Only needed 1/2 of the sauce. The spice and bread crumbs were the correct amounts for me. I made the patties and put them into the fridge until I was ready to cooks them. Next time I will make them into little balls --like mini meatballs. My kids even ate this (one with ketchup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Sean, you are right! I did not alter the recipe in any way. My boyfriend, who is very meat-&-potatoes and who I am sure has never even a chickpea, was so in love with the cucumber sauce that I almost didn't have any for the falafel cakes when they were done. The flavor of the cakes was very, very nice but the cucumber sour cream sauce is "the bomb". It will be our new holiday dip; it deserves a recipe entry all of its own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
These are restaurant-quality falafels. I follow the recipe exactly, making my "pinch" of cayenne pepper and "dash" of black pepper very generous. The seasoning is spot-on. I use a pastry cutter to mash the chickpeas (it's faster than a fork). In one batch I took the time to remove the skins from the chickpeas, but I didn't notice any major textural difference so I just leave them on now. I once pressed the mix into burger-sized patties -- falafel burgers! Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
So good! Used baking soda instead of baking powder as someone suggested. Otherwise I followed the recipe as written, although I eyeballed the bread crumbs. Very yummy!! Will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgallo80

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This was really good - I usually get the mix but it's nice to have a from scratch recipe. I didn't have bread crumbs so had to use panko but it worked. I also used baking soda as others had suggested and used cilantro instead of parsley as that's what I had on hand. I think I would use the cilantro again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I drained and rinsed the chickpeas and they remained too firm despite vigorous mashing so I put them in the food processor and pulsed them.No way they would have "mashed". As for the am't of pepper I suggest much more than a dash. These held together and fried well but were missing some zing,- very bland in my opinion.The arab/israeli falafal I have eaten is denser and stronger tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I attempted to make this falafel following the recipe as given, but found the resulting mixture (before cooking) to be more liquid than solid. I suspect the onion was the culprit, though the onion i used wasn't overly large. I ended up adding chickpea flour until the mixture became a manageable dough, froze as small patties, and then later cooked. I felt the flavor was pretty good (but a bit too much onion left a strong taste in the mouth), the texture was lacking due amount of flour I had to use. Will reattempt, hopefully with better results. Perhaps a measurement of onion would be useful for others like me. If anyone has a suggestion it would be appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This was seasoned absolutely perfectly. I, like others, baked mine. I only had dried herbs, but these still tasted amazing, especially with the tzatziki! Keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
UH-MA-ZING. Everyone loved it =) I really loved the cucumber sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashwitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vandalia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
What a great recipe! I accidentally doubled the coriander, but it didn't harm the taste! 1) I did not end up pureeing the onion, just left it finely diced. 2) I used two cups chickpeas from those that I had cooked in the slow cooker and frozen. 3) I mashed the chickpeas with a potato smasher in a flat-bottomed pot. 4) I used 2/3 of the breadcrumbs in the mix, then left the rest in the measuring cup to roll the balls. 5) Because my pitas were so small, I made eighteen golf ball sized falafels. 6) Following another review, I sprayed them with oil and baked at 425F for 20 minutes, then flipped them, sprayed, and baked another 8 minutes. 6) We stuffed them in the pitas, spooned a thin layer of tahini over them, then topped with CAYCE's Tzatziki I (upping the garlic 50%), lettuce, and tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 845) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States