Seafood Stuffed Avocados Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Couldn't get enough of this...we loved it! I used frozen cooked cocktail shrimp & a can of fancy white crab meat (finally found a recipe that the cheaper stuff is good in!). I used lite ranch dressing instead of mayo & I used Old Bay instead of salt. And I probably used an extra tbp. of cucumber (I wouldn't suggest leaving it out...it adds a lot to the dish). The filling was really, really good w/ the avocado!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
Thanks for a delicious recipe! I left out the cucumber and the parsley (I didn't have any) and substituted dill weed for the parsley. It was delicious, and also taste good on top of a salad. It was ready in less than 30 minutes, which makes it a keeper in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
I used ranch dressing in place of the mayonnaise mixture and used only shrimp. I simply put a dollop of dressing on the avocado halves where I removed the pit and then put some of the small canned salad shrimp on top of that. It was an easy and impressive appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Hmmm...I struggled with this rating. My only problem with this recipe is that the avocado is pretty unneccessary. I guess it makes for an unusual presentation but you waste an awful lot of avocado. The seafood salad (which is what this tastes like) was very good. I think I may have added a little salt/pepper to taste but it was very good. I actually diced up the avocado and threw it in the salad but I still wasted a lot. I will forgo the whole avocado part the next time I make it unless I plan to make guacamole at the same time and can use that extra avocado for something. Overall this was a yummy appetizer and very light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This is similar to a combination that we often make (salad shrimp on avocado with seafood cocktail sauce), but this is, oh, so much better. Not only does it include crab (I used fresh dungeness), but the cucumber adds a fresh touch that's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I made this for my parents 30th anniversary meal (along w/crab stuffed manicotti & crusty french bread both from allrecipes). The only change I made was using the avacado I scraped out to make guacamole & put a layer of that in the avacado before I added the seafood mixture. It turned out great! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
We added a little cayenne. But other than that did what the recipe called for and it was a hit. We just ate it like a "seafood salad" out of the avacado shell. Very good. nice start to a seafood meal....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This recipe is great. I tried it the other night and my family couldn't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Use the fresh "dungeness" crab if you can get it and/or blue if you can't. Turns this recipe of mediocrate into food fit for a California King!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I loved this. Made it last night as an appetizer for Valentines Day. I used imitation crab because my son is allergic to real crab. I added chopped avocado and used ranch instead of mayo. I also squirted a little fresh lime juice in it. The cucumbers really made this recipe. It was light and fresh and I will definately make this again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States