Seafood Stuffed Avocados Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Couldn't get enough of this...we loved it! I used frozen cooked cocktail shrimp & a can of fancy white crab meat (finally found a recipe that the cheaper stuff is good in!). I used lite ranch dressing instead of mayo & I used Old Bay instead of salt. And I probably used an extra tbp. of cucumber (I wouldn't suggest leaving it out...it adds a lot to the dish). The filling was really, really good w/ the avocado!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
I added onion/garlic powders, dill weed and minced red onion. I couldn't see the purpose of wasting a perfectly wonderful avacado just to use the shell as a bowl, so I chopped the avacado meat and added it into the mix. This made a great lunch Annie and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This was a hit as the second course of my Valentine's dinner. Like other's have said already, I saw no point in wasting a perfectly good avocado, so decided to make it part of the meal. I actually did not stuff them at all. I sliced the avocado, squeezed a lime over it(both for flavor and to prevent browning), and used it as a bed for the filling. For the filling, my valentine is allergic to shrimp, so I used premium crab to make up for the lack of shrimp - the jumbo lump crab -, I also put a little extra cucumber (someone here already said it, but it bears saying again, the cucumber really makes the dish, so don't leave it out),some fresh dill, and although it was valentine's day, I couldnt help adding a few dashes of garlic powder - it was the perfect touch. I served it on top of the lime-soaked avocado slices - DELICIOUS! So good in fact, my valentine was hesitant to move on to the next course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJELLA5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Didn't want to waste avocado by scraping out the flesh so I t sliced the peeled avocado and served with the shrimp/ crab filling. I also added a little salsa sauce to he mixture. Made a great starter to Christmas lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Bedelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
One word: YUMMY! I followed on reviewer's advice and used Ranch dressing in lieu of the mayo. I used fat free Ranch dressing, and it gave it an extra kick. I also left a lot of the avocoado mixture in and smushed the crab/shrimp mixture into the halves. I would just have to go back to replace the filling I ate. I love avocado and didn't want to waste it. Leaving the avocado gave it an extra boost to the texture and made it more hearty. I also doubled the amount of cucumber, which gave it an extra crunch. I ended up eating both halves of the avocado! YUMMY! The mixture is also good on top of crackers and toast! This is an excellent recipe and will become a staple in my cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I added the avocado also and didn't use the shell. I served it on lettuce leaves. It was an interesting dish but I thought it was a bit bland. Maybe I didn't add enough pepper or I just prefer things with alot of pepper. I'm not sure. I didn't use cucumber so perhaps that's why. Next time, I'll cut back on the mayo and add more fresh ground pepper and perhaps a little cayenne. Overall, it was good, quick and easy. I threw it together in under 5 minutes which is a major plus for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
After one bite of this, it was requested again for dinner tonight, so i think it's a winner. I used shrimp only, added the avocado back in, and tomatoes/red onions per another reviewer. I also added a splash of lime juice because I love lime on avocado and shrimp. I doubt I'll make it again tonight, but I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
These are really good for a light lunch. I omitted the cucumber, used cilantro instead of parsley, and added the chopped avocado in the mixture. I also added some spices to jazz things up a little because otherwise it's fairly bland. By experimenting with my ingredients and seasonings I've discovered a mixture that I really like. I've made these many times now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
Thanks for a delicious recipe! I left out the cucumber and the parsley (I didn't have any) and substituted dill weed for the parsley. It was delicious, and also taste good on top of a salad. It was ready in less than 30 minutes, which makes it a keeper in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
From some of the reviews the instructions must have confused some of the cooks. Having had stuffed Avocados often previously, I sliced the avocado in half, removed the seed and PEELED the skin off. Using the flesh as a "boat" placed it on top of lettuce on the plate and filled the halves with seafood mixture. Recommend using the recipe as a guide for your own favorite mixture. Use just enough mayo or cream cheese mixture to hold together but not soupy. Also very good using a tuna or chicken mixture. Add fresh fruit to the plate, maybe sliced tomato and a mini muffin or crackers to complete the meal. Often both avocado halves are used per serving with stuffing mix overflowing the avocado haves onto the lettuce on plate. Nice for a luncheon meal. I cook by guess and by golly as my mother would say. Add & leave out as suits you. 5 stars when made as stated in my comments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States