Seafood Stuffed Avocados Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Hmmm...I struggled with this rating. My only problem with this recipe is that the avocado is pretty unneccessary. I guess it makes for an unusual presentation but you waste an awful lot of avocado. The seafood salad (which is what this tastes like) was very good. I think I may have added a little salt/pepper to taste but it was very good. I actually diced up the avocado and threw it in the salad but I still wasted a lot. I will forgo the whole avocado part the next time I make it unless I plan to make guacamole at the same time and can use that extra avocado for something. Overall this was a yummy appetizer and very light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I added the avocado also and didn't use the shell. I served it on lettuce leaves. It was an interesting dish but I thought it was a bit bland. Maybe I didn't add enough pepper or I just prefer things with alot of pepper. I'm not sure. I didn't use cucumber so perhaps that's why. Next time, I'll cut back on the mayo and add more fresh ground pepper and perhaps a little cayenne. Overall, it was good, quick and easy. I threw it together in under 5 minutes which is a major plus for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Didn't want to waste avocado by scraping out the flesh so I t sliced the peeled avocado and served with the shrimp/ crab filling. I also added a little salsa sauce to he mixture. Made a great starter to Christmas lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
CRAB AND SHRIMP A LITTLE OVERWHELMING, ADDED SOME CAYENNE TO ADD A LITTLE SPICE, WAS GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
I added onion/garlic powders, dill weed and minced red onion. I couldn't see the purpose of wasting a perfectly wonderful avacado just to use the shell as a bowl, so I chopped the avacado meat and added it into the mix. This made a great lunch Annie and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Couldn't get enough of this...we loved it! I used frozen cooked cocktail shrimp & a can of fancy white crab meat (finally found a recipe that the cheaper stuff is good in!). I used lite ranch dressing instead of mayo & I used Old Bay instead of salt. And I probably used an extra tbp. of cucumber (I wouldn't suggest leaving it out...it adds a lot to the dish). The filling was really, really good w/ the avocado!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
These were just ok. I liked everything that was in them, but, apparently not mixed all together. Will try again though with different spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
These are really good for a light lunch. I omitted the cucumber, used cilantro instead of parsley, and added the chopped avocado in the mixture. I also added some spices to jazz things up a little because otherwise it's fairly bland. By experimenting with my ingredients and seasonings I've discovered a mixture that I really like. I've made these many times now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
I used ranch dressing in place of the mayonnaise mixture and used only shrimp. I simply put a dollop of dressing on the avocado halves where I removed the pit and then put some of the small canned salad shrimp on top of that. It was an easy and impressive appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
Thanks for a delicious recipe! I left out the cucumber and the parsley (I didn't have any) and substituted dill weed for the parsley. It was delicious, and also taste good on top of a salad. It was ready in less than 30 minutes, which makes it a keeper in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Stuffed Zucchini

Baked zucchini boats are stuffed with seasoned ground beef and Italian sausage.

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States