Seafood Stuffed Avocados Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I loved this. Made it last night as an appetizer for Valentines Day. I used imitation crab because my son is allergic to real crab. I added chopped avocado and used ranch instead of mayo. I also squirted a little fresh lime juice in it. The cucumbers really made this recipe. It was light and fresh and I will definately make this again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Well, Im guessing on the rating because you definatley need fresh real crab in this. With fresh it probably would have been better. I had some canned crabmeat in the cupboard that Ive been trying to find recipes that it's good in! This was not one of them, and have yet to find one. I ended up throwing it away. Boyfriend ate one but I think he was just being nice since I made them for the appetizer for our Valentine's Day dinner. I wish I wouldn't have waster my avocado on that "canned experiment." Oh well! I will try again with real fresh crabmeat after our trip to the coast this weekend. With all the rave reviews, it's got to be good right??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Use the fresh "dungeness" crab if you can get it and/or blue if you can't. Turns this recipe of mediocrate into food fit for a California King!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This recipe is great. I tried it the other night and my family couldn't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
I scooped out the entire avocado, mostly because I think it gave a better presentation. My entire family loved this recipe exactly as is, but I didn't really care for the sweetness, so I will try making this again without the cucumber. Also, I used fake crab meat, which I won't do again because it also has a very sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
We added a little cayenne. But other than that did what the recipe called for and it was a hit. We just ate it like a "seafood salad" out of the avacado shell. Very good. nice start to a seafood meal....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Great way to start a dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This was good as a chunky dip for crackers... I used extra avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCANDEE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Living In: Mammoth Lakes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I made this for my parents 30th anniversary meal (along w/crab stuffed manicotti & crusty french bread both from allrecipes). The only change I made was using the avacado I scraped out to make guacamole & put a layer of that in the avacado before I added the seafood mixture. It turned out great! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
These were very easy to prepare and were tasty, but I did feel they were missing *something*. I will be making them again, but adding some lemon/lime juice and more of the scraped out avacado mixture. I might even add some fresh dill the next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States