Seafood Stuffed Avocados Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This was probably one of the best seafood appetizers I have ever had! I can't wait to buy more avacados and make some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Media, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
These were so good! Also very easy. I used canned crab (to cut cost). Also frozen shrimp ranch instead of mayo and I also cut up the avadado flesh and threw it in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I added an extra cucumber and substituted old bay for the other spices. If you made this recipe w/out cucumber I suggest you try it again, Makes a world of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This was a hit as the second course of my Valentine's dinner. Like other's have said already, I saw no point in wasting a perfectly good avocado, so decided to make it part of the meal. I actually did not stuff them at all. I sliced the avocado, squeezed a lime over it(both for flavor and to prevent browning), and used it as a bed for the filling. For the filling, my valentine is allergic to shrimp, so I used premium crab to make up for the lack of shrimp - the jumbo lump crab -, I also put a little extra cucumber (someone here already said it, but it bears saying again, the cucumber really makes the dish, so don't leave it out),some fresh dill, and although it was valentine's day, I couldnt help adding a few dashes of garlic powder - it was the perfect touch. I served it on top of the lime-soaked avocado slices - DELICIOUS! So good in fact, my valentine was hesitant to move on to the next course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJELLA5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
THIS WAS THE BEST THING ON THE PLANET!!!! I had to change a few things to make it really tasty but its perfect with these additions. (oh and plus I put everything in the food processor for just a few pulses) unpeeled 6TB cucumber pulsed in food processor 3TB chopped fresh parsley 3TB chopped fresh cilantro LOTS Old Bay Pinch of Southwestern Spice LOTS paprika I also added all the leftover avocado to the mixture! YUM I think next time I will put a bit of chopped jalapeno.... thanks so much for the recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinUpaStorm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
When I tasted just the seafood salad, I thought something wasn't quite right and probably wouldn't be making again; however, the avacado put all of the flavors in perfect order. Used fake crab only but otherwise made recipe as is. Served with "Easy Asparagus" and a thick steak au poivre. My husband actually requested that we invite company for dinner just so I can make it all again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Very nice - a great first course. I used a bit of a chopped red hot cherry pepper & some chili powder - it was very nice, just a little heat. I scooped out the avocados and chopped them up and put in the mixture. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
OK, a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAMIE LAWSON

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This recipe is awesome! I had some grilled shrimp left over and used that instead of the canned kind. I also took the avocado that I scooped out and chopped it up and tossed it with the rest of the ingredients. Nice and refreshing, this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Excellent! Was the begining of a 5 course meal. I had made extra to have for lunch the next day, but when I woke-up It was already gone from the refridgerator :) One of the only recipes where using immitation crab was ok (shocking, I know).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States