Seafood Stuffed Avocados Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
From some of the reviews the instructions must have confused some of the cooks. Having had stuffed Avocados often previously, I sliced the avocado in half, removed the seed and PEELED the skin off. Using the flesh as a "boat" placed it on top of lettuce on the plate and filled the halves with seafood mixture. Recommend using the recipe as a guide for your own favorite mixture. Use just enough mayo or cream cheese mixture to hold together but not soupy. Also very good using a tuna or chicken mixture. Add fresh fruit to the plate, maybe sliced tomato and a mini muffin or crackers to complete the meal. Often both avocado halves are used per serving with stuffing mix overflowing the avocado haves onto the lettuce on plate. Nice for a luncheon meal. I cook by guess and by golly as my mother would say. Add & leave out as suits you. 5 stars when made as stated in my comments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I was quite skeptical of this recipe at first...but it had so many good reviews that I couldn't resist. I'm glad I didn't! I turned out wonderfully. I followed some of the reader comments and I tossed in the avocado in the mix. I also added a dash or two of garlic powder. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I first had this delicious appetizer on a cruise - and fell in love with the mixture of tastes and textures. I used this recipe for this years Valentines Day dinner at home - hubby LOVED it, and said it was just as good as the cruise. :) TIP!! After you've sliced the avocado lengthwise, turn the avocado over and trim off the very "bottom" - the flat surface will keep your 'cado's from rolling around on the plate, and makes it easier to fill. I also took a spoon, and scooped out the sliver of 'cado meat, then used that as a garnish on the top of the crabmeat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySaphyre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
NEEDS LEMON JUICE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
followed the recipe and stirred in the bits of avocado. it is a little bland, but DH seemed to really like it, so maybe ill try to tweak it a little more to my tastes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camsmith89

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was pretty good! I used everything that the recipie calls for but added some other things. First, more cucumber, 3 tbsp red onion (I think it needed more than that too), added cayanne, and I used light ranch and mayo. Also I used the alvacado. I put one lemon on it to make sure it didnt brown. I would have put the lemon on the whole mixture but my husband hates lemonly stuff so I only put it on the alvacado. Also I used fresh dill, I think it really helped. My husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
amazing! easy to make and always a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Just like I've had in Mexico. Delicious! Definitely don't waste the avocado. I stuffed the avocados with the rest of the avocado and didn't have any crab so just used shrimp, but it would probably be even better with crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was a great starting point for me but I made some changes according to other reviews and my own tastes. I used sushi-grade crab sticks (7 or 8), 6 jumbo shrimp, a shallot, cucumber and an avocado and finely chopped everything. Then, I mixed in some dill weed, cayenne, garlic powder, a little bit of light mayo, and ground black pepper. I also added a splash of light soy sauce and dill pickle juice. After mixing everything, I served it over a bed of chopped romaine lettuce and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vallynn06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Clair Shores, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Very yummy. This is great served as an appetzer. I like it in the summer months, when it's hot out. This is a nice cool treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nidda

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Stuffed Zucchini

Baked zucchini boats are stuffed with seasoned ground beef and Italian sausage.

How NOT to Roast Stuffed Artichokes

To see how to roast stuffed artichokes the right way, watch Chef John’s mistake!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States