Seafood Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I loved this. It was so yummy and everyone loved it. I only changed a few things, I added more veggies like asparagus and chopped tomatoes and a little cheese just before serving. My boyfriend ate so much and we ended up having just enough left overs, which was fine with us because it tasted so good and took it to work. Our friends came over and tried it right out of the fridge the next day and ended up eating the rest! I'm making it again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Delicious! And it tastes great reheated the next day. My boyfriend made this for me last night and it was better than any meal I've had in a restaurant in ages. Plus, it's very comforting on a cold rainy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Very good! i would add a little more salmon and/or clams to make it more seafood tasty. I also added spinach which made it a little healthier. An option would be to add some tomatoes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This was a good recipe with the twists my hubby and I made. The trick is to use really good stock. We used chicken stock instead of water, and used this to cook 15 fresh clams in their shell, along with the shells from about 10 prawns. We then removed and discarded the shells and added the cooked clams to the canned clams and poured the liquid from the canned clams into the stock. We substituted the saffron and basil for 1 tsp of Old Bay seasoning. We added 2 c. chopped spinach and substituted salmon for 10 prawns and 10 scallops. We added these along with 1 cup grated fresh parmesan cheese with the clams when the risotto was almost ready. Belissimo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
We thought it needed a little more zip and minced 1/4 green pepper with the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mdm. Admiral

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
A really good starting point, and it produces a fine dish. My swing on the recipe is to season it with a bit of Old Bay--just enough to feel that it's there, but not so much as to make it an Old Bay dish. For seafood, I skip the salmon,and use a dozen medium (26-31-count) peeled and deveined shrimp, a dozen sea scallops, and 1/2 cup lump crab meat. Also, instead of water, I make my own stock by simmering for 20 minutes the shrimp shells, a teaspoon celery salt,and the top leaves from a bunch of celery. Basil is good, but I think thyme is better for this dish. Finally, plate the risotto, sprinkle the tops with good Parmesan cheese and place the plates under the broiler until the edges just begin to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef Jeff

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Loved it! We added a bunch of asparagus and diced a fresh tomato (about 1 pound) then sprinkled with shaved parmesan just before serving. Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Made this for a special "date night" dinner. We both loved it. My husband said, "Well you're gonna have to make this again". Actually he is making it this weekend for Mother's Day for me. I used shrimp instead of clams since he doesn't like them and added a few sprinkles of crab & shrimp seasoning since most people said it was missing something. It had a nice little kick in the back of the throat. Can't wait for Sunday!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarahbeth
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Well, I enjoyed this but made a few changes... I used calamari and shrimp rather than salmon and clams. Also I never use chicken stock so substituted vegetable broth and it was a bit bland so I topped it off with some grated Parmesan. My husband liked it a lot but I felt like it needed some vegetables like cherry tomatoes or celery added. Over all it was quick and easy and tasted ok so will def make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarahbeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dad351w
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Needs more clams and less salmon. Bland, needs salt and pepper. If I make it again I'm thinking ill add celery, carrots, mushrooms and no salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dad351w

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Bacon Risotto

Bacon’s the star of the show in this simple risotto recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States