Seafood Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
A really good starting point, and it produces a fine dish. My swing on the recipe is to season it with a bit of Old Bay--just enough to feel that it's there, but not so much as to make it an Old Bay dish. For seafood, I skip the salmon,and use a dozen medium (26-31-count) peeled and deveined shrimp, a dozen sea scallops, and 1/2 cup lump crab meat. Also, instead of water, I make my own stock by simmering for 20 minutes the shrimp shells, a teaspoon celery salt,and the top leaves from a bunch of celery. Basil is good, but I think thyme is better for this dish. Finally, plate the risotto, sprinkle the tops with good Parmesan cheese and place the plates under the broiler until the edges just begin to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef Jeff

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
sooo good! my husband said it was his favorite dinner yet. I added a garlic clove to the onion/ butter mixture, and we added oyster mushrooms, spinach, scallops, and shrimp. we pre cooked the seafood and veggies, and added pepper and salt when to the seafood and veggies before throwing them in with the rice. also stirred the whoooole time. fabulous! a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dad351w
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Needs more clams and less salmon. Bland, needs salt and pepper. If I make it again I'm thinking ill add celery, carrots, mushrooms and no salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dad351w

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
used seafood stock and water and reserved clam juice from clams. only used clams Rice needed to be thickened at end. Don't use cheese, didn't want cream. Used 3T butter. perfect. Jeff and Lu loved, Ted not Nick liked it. I thought it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birdsboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I substituted shrimp for the salmon and I also added some fresh steamed mussels as well. I did 1/2 clam juice, 1/2 chicken stock because I didn't want to overwhelm the dish with the clam juice and I feel that it was a perfect choice. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Very good. Since I'm not a fan of clams I used chicken broth, crabmeat and scallops (which were cooked in wine and garlic). I also added in chopped green peppers and topped with asparagus, diced tomatoes and shredded parmesan. Next time I'll use shrimp in place of crabmeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Turned out Fantastic! Very easy to make. Took the stress out of making Risotto! I added cooked peeled shrimp, frozen peas, and 1 t chopped garlic to the recipe. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napoleon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This was a good recipe with the twists my hubby and I made. The trick is to use really good stock. We used chicken stock instead of water, and used this to cook 15 fresh clams in their shell, along with the shells from about 10 prawns. We then removed and discarded the shells and added the cooked clams to the canned clams and poured the liquid from the canned clams into the stock. We substituted the saffron and basil for 1 tsp of Old Bay seasoning. We added 2 c. chopped spinach and substituted salmon for 10 prawns and 10 scallops. We added these along with 1 cup grated fresh parmesan cheese with the clams when the risotto was almost ready. Belissimo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Made this for a special "date night" dinner. We both loved it. My husband said, "Well you're gonna have to make this again". Actually he is making it this weekend for Mother's Day for me. I used shrimp instead of clams since he doesn't like them and added a few sprinkles of crab & shrimp seasoning since most people said it was missing something. It had a nice little kick in the back of the throat. Can't wait for Sunday!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Loved it! We added a bunch of asparagus and diced a fresh tomato (about 1 pound) then sprinkled with shaved parmesan just before serving. Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States