Seafood Piccata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This was fantastic! My husband won't stop talking about it. Possibly the best dish I've had on this site. The combination of wine and lemon juice was perfect. I added extra garlic, left out the scallops, and used imitation crab meat instead of real. I also scaled this down to two servings and we have enough leftover for lunch tomorrow. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Recipe made way too much sauce and the sauce was too thin. We didn't like the shell pasta with it either. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Verona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Have made this twice now with variations on the seafood and wine. Each time it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
This is an awesome dish. Really. I made it for my brothers BD, and he just raved about it. I did change the recipe a bit - thickened the sauce a litte with about 1/2 cup flour at the end; added (quite a bit) more parsley... as well as reducing the lemon juice. I don't think there needs to be as much butter as they called for - I used about 1/2 cup butter and 1/3 cup oil to fry the garlic/mushrooms in, and left it at that. As I said, it was sooo good. Thanks a lot for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
Pretty good recipe. The sauce is thin (and supposed to be!). If you get the small scallops, they cook fast, so I put them in about a minute after the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
I made this last night. The only changes I made where, that I added some fresh basil, and I used spaghetti. My husband loved it. Thanks Beth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Easy recipe and quick. I am not a fish lover, this recipe was OK but I don't think I will make again. My husband liked it and had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
It wasn't bad, but 2 cups of wine was *way* too much! Trying to reduce it resulted in overcooked seafood. I liked it better the next day when I drained off the "sauce" and added red sauce to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Made this for supper tonight and everyone seemed to enjoy it. I did make a few changes: I substituted 1.5 cups of wine for chicken broth (will probably do 1 cup each next time); used linguine instead of shells, I also added in some freshly chopped basil which I think added to the flavor; finally I spiced up the seafood a bit with a sprinkle of Zatarain's crab boil. The lemon flavor was wonderful and not too overpowering. The dish was quick to make and didn't take a whole lot of effort. This one will be going into my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
I'm giving this 5 stars because my two four year-olds and two year-old devoured this, and my pickiest four year-old, who never finishes anything and NEVER asks for seconds, finished her first helping and asked for seconds. I used penne pasta. I didn't have mushrooms or green onions, so I used broccoli, zucchini, and yellow onion. I also used a pre-bagged seafood mix to cut down on prep time. I also added a generous amount of freshly grated parmesan cheese. I was a bit concerned at the amount of liquid 2 cups of white wine, a cube of butter, and 6 Tbls of lemon made, but it came out fabulous. This was kid-friendly and could just as easily have been served to company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States