Seafood Piccata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2002
My husband loved it! I used angel hair pasta. I followed a previous reviewer's suggestion to saute the green onions, mushrooms, and garlic first and then add the seafood so that the seafood wouldn't be overcooked. That worked well. I cut the recipe in half, and I was very glad that I did as it made quite a bit. A little tip that I'll follow when I make this again: if you use angel hair pasta, after you drain it, stir in a very small amount of oil to prevent the pasta from becoming one big clump. By the time I finished with the seafood sauce, I had a huge clump of pasta that was all glued together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2001
One of the best seafood recipes I have ever eaten! Two cost-saving things I did were to use imitation crabmeat in place of lump crabmeat or clawmeat, and bay scallops instead of the larger sea scallops (Beth didn't specify which anyway). Re the procedure, in my opinion, 13-15 min. total is too long to cook all this delicate seafood. So I sauteed the green onions, garlic and mushrooms alone for 5 min., then added all the seafood & cooked just til the shrimp turned completely pink, then proceeded with Step 3. I've made this twice now, both times halfing the recipe, which generously serves 6 people. Thanks, Beth, for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
With a few minor changes, this is a delicious recipe. As per other reviewers, saute vegs and garlic (only 1 tsp minced) first until tender. Then stir in 1/2 the recipe of seafood (i.e., 1/2# of each shrimp, bay scallops, and crabmeat-I used imitation crabmeat). Saute till seafood is cooked. Then stir in the remaining ingredients (I used 1 cup of chicken broth made with granules + 1/3 cup of white wine, 6 T. fresh lemon juice, 1/2 cup of butter). Then, thicken with 2 T. cornstarch to about the same amount of water. Serve over angel hair pasta. This served one normal sized eater plus two big eaters and a little leftover (possibly one small eater serving).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This was FANTASTIC! And fast & easy to prepare. By far the best Allrecipes recipe we ever tried, and I've been a fan for at least 4 yrs now. Used a lot of reviewers tips for this one, so might not be fair to rate the recipe, but since the recipe is based on the original (who doesn't tweak???) I guess it should count. Halving the recipe was enough for 2 plus generous leftovers for tomorrow. First, I cut down butter by 1/2 (2 T). Subbed some wine with chicken stock (1/2c each) and the grn onion w/vidalia. Used 1 lb total seafood - shrimp and lobster (imitation) - that was PLENTY of meat - no need for 1.5 pounds! If you've never used it, you can find fresh herbs in the produce department in tubes that last for a cpl months and it cuts down on prep time for washing and chopping! I used approx 1T each parsley and basil. [Also can get minced garlic in jars in produce dept!] I sauteed the veggies & warmed the sauce sauce first, then added the seafood last so it doesn't overcook. Slightly thickened sauce w/Wondra [another great kitchen must-have! in baking goods aisle] b4 adding seafood & liquid. Served w/linguine. YUMMMM!!!! The lemon juice measurement remained same @ 3T for the halved recipe and is a MUST! Not too strong at all, it enhances this light seafood dish! Will most definitely go into our regular rotation. Many thanks for the posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Made this for supper tonight and everyone seemed to enjoy it. I did make a few changes: I substituted 1.5 cups of wine for chicken broth (will probably do 1 cup each next time); used linguine instead of shells, I also added in some freshly chopped basil which I think added to the flavor; finally I spiced up the seafood a bit with a sprinkle of Zatarain's crab boil. The lemon flavor was wonderful and not too overpowering. The dish was quick to make and didn't take a whole lot of effort. This one will be going into my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
I'm giving this 5 stars because my two four year-olds and two year-old devoured this, and my pickiest four year-old, who never finishes anything and NEVER asks for seconds, finished her first helping and asked for seconds. I used penne pasta. I didn't have mushrooms or green onions, so I used broccoli, zucchini, and yellow onion. I also used a pre-bagged seafood mix to cut down on prep time. I also added a generous amount of freshly grated parmesan cheese. I was a bit concerned at the amount of liquid 2 cups of white wine, a cube of butter, and 6 Tbls of lemon made, but it came out fabulous. This was kid-friendly and could just as easily have been served to company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2000
This is a keeper! I modified this recipe because my sister is allergic to crabmeat; I use 1/2 lb. scallops, 1 lb. shrimp, & 1-1/2 lbs. catfish. My mother-in-law actually asked ME for a recipe! Thanks, Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2004
Perfect. I made for my husband and mother and we were all crazy about it. Perfect Piccata sauce. FYI: Piccata sauce is supposed to be thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This did not turn out for me... It turned out like a soup. I had to take out the prawns and scallops after they were cooked because it was in so much liquid. I tried to boil it off but the shrimp and scallops were getting cold... It needs a thickening agent or a lot less liquid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenifaOHjenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
We used angel hair pasta for this, and it was delicious! There were only two of us, so I cut the recipe in half and we had leftovers the second night. Made a delicious, quick seafood dinner! I'm thinking maybe next time I'll sprinkle some fresh parmesan cheese over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States