Seafood Piccata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
I thought this was just ok...it was to much wine in my opinion, I would go with 1 cup and substitute either a cup of water from the pasta or chicken broth. I also thought is was odd there was no salt or pepper for seasoning just the garlic and parsley. I added about a tablespoon of capers because I have never heard of piccata without it. This needs some seasoning. I will most likely not be making again especially since I spent $35 on the seafood. Thanks for the recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This was FANTASTIC! And fast & easy to prepare. By far the best Allrecipes recipe we ever tried, and I've been a fan for at least 4 yrs now. Used a lot of reviewers tips for this one, so might not be fair to rate the recipe, but since the recipe is based on the original (who doesn't tweak???) I guess it should count. Halving the recipe was enough for 2 plus generous leftovers for tomorrow. First, I cut down butter by 1/2 (2 T). Subbed some wine with chicken stock (1/2c each) and the grn onion w/vidalia. Used 1 lb total seafood - shrimp and lobster (imitation) - that was PLENTY of meat - no need for 1.5 pounds! If you've never used it, you can find fresh herbs in the produce department in tubes that last for a cpl months and it cuts down on prep time for washing and chopping! I used approx 1T each parsley and basil. [Also can get minced garlic in jars in produce dept!] I sauteed the veggies & warmed the sauce sauce first, then added the seafood last so it doesn't overcook. Slightly thickened sauce w/Wondra [another great kitchen must-have! in baking goods aisle] b4 adding seafood & liquid. Served w/linguine. YUMMMM!!!! The lemon juice measurement remained same @ 3T for the halved recipe and is a MUST! Not too strong at all, it enhances this light seafood dish! Will most definitely go into our regular rotation. Many thanks for the posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This was fantastic! My husband won't stop talking about it. Possibly the best dish I've had on this site. The combination of wine and lemon juice was perfect. I added extra garlic, left out the scallops, and used imitation crab meat instead of real. I also scaled this down to two servings and we have enough leftover for lunch tomorrow. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Recipe made way too much sauce and the sauce was too thin. We didn't like the shell pasta with it either. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Verona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Have made this twice now with variations on the seafood and wine. Each time it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
This is an awesome dish. Really. I made it for my brothers BD, and he just raved about it. I did change the recipe a bit - thickened the sauce a litte with about 1/2 cup flour at the end; added (quite a bit) more parsley... as well as reducing the lemon juice. I don't think there needs to be as much butter as they called for - I used about 1/2 cup butter and 1/3 cup oil to fry the garlic/mushrooms in, and left it at that. As I said, it was sooo good. Thanks a lot for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
Pretty good recipe. The sauce is thin (and supposed to be!). If you get the small scallops, they cook fast, so I put them in about a minute after the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
I made this last night. The only changes I made where, that I added some fresh basil, and I used spaghetti. My husband loved it. Thanks Beth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Easy recipe and quick. I am not a fish lover, this recipe was OK but I don't think I will make again. My husband liked it and had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
It wasn't bad, but 2 cups of wine was *way* too much! Trying to reduce it resulted in overcooked seafood. I liked it better the next day when I drained off the "sauce" and added red sauce to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States