Seafood Piccata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
My husband and I loved this recipe. We did tweek it a bit after reading some of the other reviews. We will certainly be eating this again and I'm eager to fix it for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This was just okay. The only substitution I made was to swap half of the wine with chicken broth. I ended up adding lots more garlic and some pepper at the end because there was just no flavor. Maybe if I increased and then thickened the sauce ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I wanted to try this recipe out because i like all the ingredients and my bf and I are always looking for seafood dishes. I had to cut the recipe way down as i was only cooking for myself. This dish has the potential to be very, very good but it needs a little kick. I like my food with very powerful flavors and this fairs more on the lightly flavored side of things. Next time i will add much more garlic and probably red pepper. That said this dish is easy to prepare and has the potential to please most seafood lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I LOVED this! I did a few changes, per the other reviews: used 1 cup white wine and 1 cup chicken broth (instead of the 2 cups wine), and used only 2 Tbsp. of butter (that's all it needed!) Threw the seafood in last. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I followed the recipe only replacing the water with clam juice. Wow was this a dish to die for. My wife felt it was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This was a good, but not great, recipe. It was easy, but I felt like it lacked something -- not sure what, though. I added some cherry tomatoes at the very end (I thought it needed a bit more color), which I think helped some. Maybe it could have used a teeny bit of red pepper flakes or a splash of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LANTRIX
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
We liked this, and it was a good change from a lot of "creamy" seafood recipes. We halved the butter as well, and the result was loved by all. An instant addition to my dinner repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANTRIX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
While this had a good flavor, I will be using much less wine next time. I used linguine instead of seashells, and I will try basil next time for more flavor and MUCH more garlic. The wine was overpowering and made the meal really soupy, but I am sure it will taste better the next day when all the flavors come together and thickens. All in all, it was a fun dish to make, very quick to do. A little pepper can add some heat to it, and I used 2 lbs of shrimp instead of one, as everyone likes shrimp here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
I thought this was just ok...it was to much wine in my opinion, I would go with 1 cup and substitute either a cup of water from the pasta or chicken broth. I also thought is was odd there was no salt or pepper for seasoning just the garlic and parsley. I added about a tablespoon of capers because I have never heard of piccata without it. This needs some seasoning. I will most likely not be making again especially since I spent $35 on the seafood. Thanks for the recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This was FANTASTIC! And fast & easy to prepare. By far the best Allrecipes recipe we ever tried, and I've been a fan for at least 4 yrs now. Used a lot of reviewers tips for this one, so might not be fair to rate the recipe, but since the recipe is based on the original (who doesn't tweak???) I guess it should count. Halving the recipe was enough for 2 plus generous leftovers for tomorrow. First, I cut down butter by 1/2 (2 T). Subbed some wine with chicken stock (1/2c each) and the grn onion w/vidalia. Used 1 lb total seafood - shrimp and lobster (imitation) - that was PLENTY of meat - no need for 1.5 pounds! If you've never used it, you can find fresh herbs in the produce department in tubes that last for a cpl months and it cuts down on prep time for washing and chopping! I used approx 1T each parsley and basil. [Also can get minced garlic in jars in produce dept!] I sauteed the veggies & warmed the sauce sauce first, then added the seafood last so it doesn't overcook. Slightly thickened sauce w/Wondra [another great kitchen must-have! in baking goods aisle] b4 adding seafood & liquid. Served w/linguine. YUMMMM!!!! The lemon juice measurement remained same @ 3T for the halved recipe and is a MUST! Not too strong at all, it enhances this light seafood dish! Will most definitely go into our regular rotation. Many thanks for the posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States