Seafood Piccata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
My husband and I loved this recipe. We did tweek it a bit after reading some of the other reviews. We will certainly be eating this again and I'm eager to fix it for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This was just okay. The only substitution I made was to swap half of the wine with chicken broth. I ended up adding lots more garlic and some pepper at the end because there was just no flavor. Maybe if I increased and then thickened the sauce ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I wanted to try this recipe out because i like all the ingredients and my bf and I are always looking for seafood dishes. I had to cut the recipe way down as i was only cooking for myself. This dish has the potential to be very, very good but it needs a little kick. I like my food with very powerful flavors and this fairs more on the lightly flavored side of things. Next time i will add much more garlic and probably red pepper. That said this dish is easy to prepare and has the potential to please most seafood lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I LOVED this! I did a few changes, per the other reviews: used 1 cup white wine and 1 cup chicken broth (instead of the 2 cups wine), and used only 2 Tbsp. of butter (that's all it needed!) Threw the seafood in last. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I followed the recipe only replacing the water with clam juice. Wow was this a dish to die for. My wife felt it was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This was a good, but not great, recipe. It was easy, but I felt like it lacked something -- not sure what, though. I added some cherry tomatoes at the very end (I thought it needed a bit more color), which I think helped some. Maybe it could have used a teeny bit of red pepper flakes or a splash of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LANTRIX
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
We liked this, and it was a good change from a lot of "creamy" seafood recipes. We halved the butter as well, and the result was loved by all. An instant addition to my dinner repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANTRIX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
While this had a good flavor, I will be using much less wine next time. I used linguine instead of seashells, and I will try basil next time for more flavor and MUCH more garlic. The wine was overpowering and made the meal really soupy, but I am sure it will taste better the next day when all the flavors come together and thickens. All in all, it was a fun dish to make, very quick to do. A little pepper can add some heat to it, and I used 2 lbs of shrimp instead of one, as everyone likes shrimp here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
I thought this was just ok...it was to much wine in my opinion, I would go with 1 cup and substitute either a cup of water from the pasta or chicken broth. I also thought is was odd there was no salt or pepper for seasoning just the garlic and parsley. I added about a tablespoon of capers because I have never heard of piccata without it. This needs some seasoning. I will most likely not be making again especially since I spent $35 on the seafood. Thanks for the recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This was FANTASTIC! And fast & easy to prepare. By far the best Allrecipes recipe we ever tried, and I've been a fan for at least 4 yrs now. Used a lot of reviewers tips for this one, so might not be fair to rate the recipe, but since the recipe is based on the original (who doesn't tweak???) I guess it should count. Halving the recipe was enough for 2 plus generous leftovers for tomorrow. First, I cut down butter by 1/2 (2 T). Subbed some wine with chicken stock (1/2c each) and the grn onion w/vidalia. Used 1 lb total seafood - shrimp and lobster (imitation) - that was PLENTY of meat - no need for 1.5 pounds! If you've never used it, you can find fresh herbs in the produce department in tubes that last for a cpl months and it cuts down on prep time for washing and chopping! I used approx 1T each parsley and basil. [Also can get minced garlic in jars in produce dept!] I sauteed the veggies & warmed the sauce sauce first, then added the seafood last so it doesn't overcook. Slightly thickened sauce w/Wondra [another great kitchen must-have! in baking goods aisle] b4 adding seafood & liquid. Served w/linguine. YUMMMM!!!! The lemon juice measurement remained same @ 3T for the halved recipe and is a MUST! Not too strong at all, it enhances this light seafood dish! Will most definitely go into our regular rotation. Many thanks for the posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Seafood Cioppino

This top-rated stew boasts 5 kinds of seafood in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States